Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 20
  1. #1
    orange's Avatar
    orange is online now Moderator
    Windows 10 Office 365
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    Posts
    16,704

    Type mismatch??


    I'm trying to list all procs in all modules in current database. Getting type mismatch as identified below!!
    I welcome any ideas/suggestions.

    Code:
    Public Sub ListProceduresInAllModules() 'tah college
        Dim modl As Module
        Dim lineNum As Long
        Dim procName As String
        
        For Each modl In Application.CurrentProject.AllModules  'type mismatch **************
            Debug.Print "Module: " & modl.Name
            
            lineNum = 1
            Do While lineNum < modl.CountOfLines
                procName = modl.ProcOfLine(lineNum, vbext_pk_Proc)
                If procName <> "" Then
                    Debug.Print "  Procedure: " & procName
                End If
                lineNum = modl.ProcStartLine(procName, vbext_pk_Proc) + _
                    modl.ProcCountLines(procName, vbext_pk_Proc)
            Loop
        Next modl
    End Sub

  2. #2
    Micron is online now Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    12,615
    try Dim modl as AccessObject

    However, I think that will raise another error as I suspect AccessObject doesn't have a countoflines property. That suggests that you'd need to see if there is a child of AccessObject that leads you to a module object. Modules can be in the CurrentProject or CodeProject so maybe you need to reference the CodeProject instead.
    The more we hear silence, the more we begin to think about our value in this universe.
    Paraphrase of Professor Brian Cox.

  3. #3
    Gicu's Avatar
    Gicu is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Kelowna, BC, Canada
    Posts
    4,085
    Hi Jack,
    I think this should avoid that error:
    Code:
    Public Sub ListProceduresInAllModules() 'tah college
        Dim modl As Module
        Dim lineNum As Long
        Dim procName As String
        Dim obj as AccessObject
    	
        For Each obj In Application.CurrentProject.AllModules  'type mismatch **************
            Set modl=Modules(obj.Name)
    		Debug.Print "Module: " & modl.Name
            
            lineNum = 1
            Do While lineNum < modl.CountOfLines
                procName = modl.ProcOfLine(lineNum, vbext_pk_Proc)
                If procName <> "" Then
                    Debug.Print "  Procedure: " & procName
                End If
                lineNum = modl.ProcStartLine(procName, vbext_pk_Proc) + _
                    modl.ProcCountLines(procName, vbext_pk_Proc)
            Loop
        Next obj
    End Sub
    Cheers,
    Vlad Cucinschi
    MS Access Developer
    http://forestbyte.com/

  4. #4
    orange's Avatar
    orange is online now Moderator
    Windows 10 Office 365
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    Posts
    16,704
    Vlad,
    I sent PM.
    Here is the file.
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by orange; 03-18-2023 at 04:34 PM.

  5. #5
    CJ_London is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    11,342
    my suggestion would be

    Code:
    Public Sub ListProceduresInAllModules() 'tah college
    Dim lineNum As Long
    Dim procName As String
    Dim i As Integer
        
        For i = 0 To Application.CurrentProject.AllModules.Count - 1
        
            With Application.CurrentProject.AllModules(i)
                Debug.Print .Name
                lineNum = 1
                Do While lineNum < .CountOfLines
                    procName = .ProcOfLine(lineNum, vbext_pk_Proc)
                    If procName <> "" Then
                        Debug.Print "  Procedure: " & procName
                    End If
                    lineNum = .ProcStartLine(procName, vbext_pk_Proc) + _
                        .ProcCountLines(procName, vbext_pk_Proc)
                Loop
            End With
        Next i
        
    End Sub

  6. #6
    orange's Avatar
    orange is online now Moderator
    Windows 10 Office 365
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    Posts
    16,704

  7. #7
    orange's Avatar
    orange is online now Moderator
    Windows 10 Office 365
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    Posts
    16,704
    Thanks Chris for responding.
    However, I get a runtime '438' Object doesn't support this property on this line.
    Do While lineNum < .CountOfLines

  8. #8
    CJ_London is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    11,342
    Must admit when testing I commented out the loop as I was getting variable not declared error. Presume I needed to add a library but wasn’t sure which one.

    just assumed it would work if you had the right library.

    I tried Vlad's code, but got an error on the Set modl = Modules(obj.Name) line - typically the first two would be recognized and then I got a 'can't find the module' error

    however I've taken a page out of his book and set an object

    this works for me (except the commented out lines

    Code:
    Public Sub ListProceduresInAllModules() 'tah college
    Dim lineNum As Long
    Dim procName As String
    Dim i As Integer
    Dim modl As Module
    
    
        For i = 0 To Application.CurrentProject.AllModules.Count - 1
    
    
            With Application.CurrentProject.AllModules(i)
                Set modl = Modules(i)
                Debug.Print modl.Name
                lineNum = 1
                Do While lineNum < modl.CountOfLines
    '                procName = .ProcOfLine(lineNum, vbext_pk_Proc)
    '                If procName <> "" Then
    '                    Debug.Print "  Procedure: " & procName
    '                End If
    '                lineNum = .ProcStartLine(procName, vbext_pk_Proc) + _
    '                    .ProcCountLines(procName, vbext_pk_Proc)
                    lineNum = lineNum + 1 ' need to remove this line when using the commented out code
                Loop
            End With
        Next i
    
    
    End Sub
    this version does all modules including forms/reports - but easy enough to exclude if you don't want them

    Code:
    Public Sub ListProceduresInAllModules() 'tah college
    Dim lineNum As Long
    Dim procName As String
    Dim i As Integer
    
    
        For i = 0 To Modules.Count - 1
    
    
            With Modules(i)
                Debug.Print .Name
                lineNum = 1
                Do While lineNum < .CountOfLines
    '                procName = .ProcOfLine(lineNum, vbext_pk_Proc)
    '                If procName <> "" Then
    '                    Debug.Print "  Procedure: " & procName
    '                End If
    '                lineNum = .ProcStartLine(procName, vbext_pk_Proc) + _
    '                    .ProcCountLines(procName, vbext_pk_Proc)
                    lineNum = lineNum + 1
                Loop
            End With
        Next i
    
    
    End Sub

  9. #9
    orange's Avatar
    orange is online now Moderator
    Windows 10 Office 365
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    Posts
    16,704
    Thanks Chris.

    When I try vlad's routine, I get an immediate error here 7961 Can't find module basStripComments on the
    Set modl = Modules(obj.Name) line. No module names are produced.

    When I try your first routine (I called it Ajax3) I added a line to Print the number of modules it starts with.
    Code:
    Public Sub ListProceduresInAllModulesAjax3() 'tah college
    Dim lineNum As Long
    Dim procName As String
    Dim i As Integer
    Dim modl As Module
    
    Debug.Print "Number of modules using Ajax3: " & Application.CurrentProject.AllModules.Count 'added for testing
        For i = 0 To Application.CurrentProject.AllModules.Count - 1
    
            With Application.CurrentProject.AllModules(i)
            
                Set modl = Modules(i)
                 Debug.Print modl.Name
                lineNum = 1
                Do While lineNum < modl.CountOfLines
    '                procName = .ProcOfLine(lineNum, vbext_pk_Proc)
    '                If procName <> "" Then
    '                    Debug.Print "  Procedure: " & procName
    '                End If
    '                lineNum = .ProcStartLine(procName, vbext_pk_Proc) + _
    '                    .ProcCountLines(procName, vbext_pk_Proc)
                    lineNum = lineNum + 1 ' need to remove this line when using the commented out code
                Loop
            End With
        Next i
    End Sub
    I get this output and it errors when i=3 saying runtime '452' invalid ordinal

    Number of modules using Ajax3: 8
    ModVlad
    ModAjax3
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

    When I try your second routine( I named Ajax2) again I added a line upfront to count the modules at the start.

    Code:
    Public Sub ListProceduresInAllModulesAjax2() 'tah college
    Dim lineNum As Long
    Dim procName As String
    Dim i As Integer
    
     Debug.Print "Module count using ajax2: " & Modules.Count
        For i = 0 To Modules.Count - 1
    
    
            With Modules(i)
                Debug.Print .Name
                lineNum = 1
                Do While lineNum < .CountOfLines
    '                procName = .ProcOfLine(lineNum, vbext_pk_Proc)
    '                If procName <> "" Then
    '                    Debug.Print "  Procedure: " & procName
    '                End If
    '                lineNum = .ProcStartLine(procName, vbext_pk_Proc) + _
    '                    .ProcCountLines(procName, vbext_pk_Proc)
                    lineNum = lineNum + 1
               Loop
            End With
        Next i
    
    
    End Sub
    I get this output

    Module count using ajax2: 3
    ModVlad
    ModAjax3
    ModAjax2

    Very confusing because there are 8 modules. Here's a screenshot showing modules, the ajax3 module and the renamed sub (....ajax3)

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Screenshot 2023-03-18 211729.gif 
Views:	15 
Size:	29.6 KB 
ID:	49917

    Frustrating to say the least. Just trying to get modules and procs(subs/functions) with vba.
    jack
    ----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

  10. #10
    Gicu's Avatar
    Gicu is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Kelowna, BC, Canada
    Posts
    4,085
    Hi guys,
    Sorry for delay in getting back, did some skiing today (last runs of the season )...
    I have made some changes based on the updates here and some code I founf on MS's help site, but still running into problems; I think is due to the attempt to loop through the AllModules collection then getting the other one (Modules) to actually set the object. It runs OK for the first module then it says it cannot find the next one.
    I'll try some more a bit later but here is what I have for now.
    Code:
    Public Sub ListProceduresInAllModules() 'tah college
        Dim modl As Module
        Dim lineNum As Long
        Dim procName As String
        'Dim obj As AccessObject
        Dim i As Integer, sModule As String
        
        'For Each obj In Application.CurrentProject.AllModules  'type mismatch **************
        For i = (Application.CurrentProject.AllModules.Count - 1) To 0 Step -1
            sModule = Application.CurrentProject.AllModules.Item(i).Name
            Set modl = Application.Modules(sModule)
            'Debug.Print "Module: " & modl.Name
            WRITE_ERROR_RESULTS ("Module: " & modl.Name)
            AllProcs (sModule)
    '        lineNum = 1
    '        Do While lineNum < modl.CountOfLines
    '            procName = modl.ProcOfLine(lineNum, vbext_pk_Proc)
    '            If procName <> "" Then
    '                'Debug.Print "  Procedure: " & procName
    '                WRITE_ERROR_RESULTS ("Procedure: " & procName)
    '            End If
    '            lineNum = modl.ProcStartLine(procName, vbext_pk_Proc) + _
    '                modl.ProcCountLines(procName, vbext_pk_Proc)
    '        Loop
        Next i
    End Sub
    Public Function AllProcs(ByVal strModuleName As String)
     
     Dim mdl As Module
     Dim lngCount As Long
     Dim lngCountDecl As Long
     Dim lngI As Long
     Dim strProcName As String
     Dim astrProcNames() As String
     Dim intI As Integer
     Dim strMsg As String
     Dim lngR As Long
     
     ' Open specified Module object.
     DoCmd.OpenModule strModuleName
     
     ' Return reference to Module object.
     Set mdl = Modules(strModuleName)
     
     ' Count lines in module.
     lngCount = mdl.CountOfLines
     
     ' Count lines in Declaration section in module.
     lngCountDecl = mdl.CountOfDeclarationLines
     
     ' Determine name of first procedure.
     strProcName = mdl.ProcOfLine(lngCountDecl + 1, lngR)
     
     ' Initialize counter variable.
     intI = 0
     
     ' Redimension array.
     ReDim Preserve astrProcNames(intI)
     
     ' Store name of first procedure in array.
     astrProcNames(intI) = strProcName
     
     ' Determine procedure name for each line after declarations.
     For lngI = lngCountDecl + 1 To lngCount
     ' Compare procedure name with ProcOfLine property value.
     If strProcName <> mdl.ProcOfLine(lngI, lngR) Then
     ' Increment counter.
     intI = intI + 1
     strProcName = mdl.ProcOfLine(lngI, lngR)
     ReDim Preserve astrProcNames(intI)
     ' Assign unique procedure names to array.
     astrProcNames(intI) = strProcName
     End If
     Next lngI
     
     strMsg = "Procedures in module '" & strModuleName & "': " & vbCrLf & vbCrLf
     For intI = 0 To UBound(astrProcNames)
     WRITE_ERROR_RESULTS ("    Procedure: " & strProcName)
     'strMsg = strMsg & astrProcNames(intI) & vbCrLf
     Next intI
     
     ' Message box listing all procedures in module.
     'MsgBox strMsg
    End Function
    Public Sub WRITE_ERROR_RESULTS(sResult As String)
    Dim strLogPath As String, strCurrentMonth As String
    Dim iFile As Integer, strLOG As String
    On Error Resume Next
    
    
    strCurrentMonth = CStr(DatePart("yyyy", Date)) & "_" & CStr(DatePart("m", Date))
    'get application path
    strLogPath = Application.CurrentProject.Path
    'open file
    iFile = FreeFile
    strLOG = strLogPath & "\" & strCurrentMonth & "_" & "VBA_PROCEDURES.TXT"
    Open strLOG For Append As iFile
    'write the result line
    Print #iFile, sResult
    'close file
    Close iFile
    End Sub
    Cheers,
    Vlad Cucinschi
    MS Access Developer
    http://forestbyte.com/

  11. #11
    Gicu's Avatar
    Gicu is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Kelowna, BC, Canada
    Posts
    4,085
    Quick addition, just read the documentation for the Modules object we've been trying to use and it only contains the open ones, which explains why you only 3 out of 8...
    https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/of...access.modules
    Cheers,
    Vlad Cucinschi
    MS Access Developer
    http://forestbyte.com/

  12. #12
    davegri's Avatar
    davegri is offline Excess Access
    Windows 11 Access 2019
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Denver
    Posts
    3,368
    I came up with this: sorry for the mishmash of messageboxes and debug.prints, but it's not a finished product for prime time, but lists all procedures in all modules.

    EDIT: Vlad, using container object in procedure GetModules below will find all modules, open or not.

    Code:
    Sub GetModules()
        Dim mod1 As Document, db As dao.Database, lineNum As Long
        Dim ctn As Container
        Set db = CurrentDb
        Set ctn = db.Containers("Modules")
        With ctn
            For Each mod1 In ctn.Documents
                Call ListOfProcs(mod1.Name)
                'Debug.Print mod1.Name
    '            Stop
            Next mod1
            
        End With
    End Sub
    Public Function ListOfProcs(ByVal strModuleName As String)
        '------------------------------------------------------
        'Courtesy : Microsoft Access
        '------------------------------------------------------
        Dim mdl As Module
        Dim linesCount As Long, DeclLines As Long
        Dim strProcName As String, lngR As Long, intJ As Integer
        Dim str_ProcNames() As String, lngK As Long
        Dim strMsg As String
        
        Set mdl = Modules(strModuleName)
        'Total Count of lines in the Module
        linesCount = mdl.CountOfLines
        Debug.Print "Module line count " & strModuleName, linesCount
        'Take the count of Global declaration lines
        DeclLines = mdl.CountOfDeclarationLines
        lngR = 1
        
        'The first line below the declaration lines
        'is the first procedure name in the Module
        strProcName = mdl.ProcOfLine(DeclLines + 1, lngR)
        'Re-dimension the str_ProcNames() Array for a single element
        'and save the procedure name in the Array.
        intJ = 0
        ReDim Preserve str_ProcNames(intJ)
        str_ProcNames(intJ) = strProcName
        'Determine procedure Name for each line after declaraction lines
        For lngK = DeclLines + 1 To linesCount
            'compare current Code-line’s procedure name with earlier line’s name
            'if not matching then we have encountered a new procedure name
            If strProcName <> mdl.ProcOfLine(lngK, lngR) Then
                'increment array index by one
                intJ = intJ + 1
                'get the procedure name of the current program line
                strProcName = mdl.ProcOfLine(lngK, lngR)
                'Redimension the array for a new element by
                'preserving the data of earlier elements
                ReDim Preserve str_ProcNames(intJ)
                'Save the procedure name in the array
                str_ProcNames(intJ) = strProcName
            End If
        Next lngK
        'create the list of Procedure Names from Array to display
        strMsg = "Procedures in the Module: " & strModuleName & vbCr
        For intJ = 0 To UBound(str_ProcNames)
            strMsg = strMsg & str_ProcNames(intJ) & vbCr
        Next
        MsgBox strMsg
    End Function

  13. #13
    Gicu's Avatar
    Gicu is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Kelowna, BC, Canada
    Posts
    4,085
    Hi Dave, thanks for that, I was looking into the Container object but it looks like I missed the fine print....
    https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/of...ner-object-dao

    I confess I almost never used most of these objects and\or collections but it was a fun exercise !

    Cheers,
    Vlad Cucinschi
    MS Access Developer
    http://forestbyte.com/

  14. #14
    moke123's Avatar
    moke123 is online now Me.Dirty=True
    Windows 11 Office 365
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Ma.
    Posts
    1,633
    I doubt it's what your looking for but I have code which returns the module names and their procedures as below.
    I use 2 dictionaries, one which has the module names and the other the procedure names and which module they belong to.
    I iterate through them to get the results below. Can optionally include form modules and procedures too.
    It's part of helper form I have so all the code is within the one form.

    Code:
    Module1
              SomeSub
    
    modLBX
              getLBX
              SelectLBX
              ClearList
              SelectAll
              DeSelectLbx
              fGetMatchIndex
    
    
    clsFormNavBar
              InitCls
              m_objcFirst_Click
              m_objcPrevious_Click
              m_objcNext_Click
              m_objcLast_Click
              m_objcNewRec_Click
              m_objfrm_Current
    
    
    modTempDataBase
              CreateOrReplaceTempDatabase
              sDeleteTempDB
              TDBPath
              fCreateTempDB
              UpdateExpiryProperty
              sSetExpiryProp
              fGetExpiry
              CreateTempTable
              UnLinkAllTempTables
              UnlinkTable
    
    
    Module3
              ListAll
              fListModNames
    Attached Files Attached Files
    If this helped, please click the star * at the bottom left and add to my reputation- Thanks

  15. #15
    davegri's Avatar
    davegri is offline Excess Access
    Windows 11 Access 2019
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Denver
    Posts
    3,368
    Quote Originally Posted by Gicu View Post
    Hi Dave, thanks for that, I was looking into the Container object but it looks like I missed the fine print....
    https://learn.microsoft.com/en-us/of...ner-object-dao

    I confess I almost never used most of these objects and\or collections but it was a fun exercise !

    Cheers,
    It is indeed, pretty obscure special purpose stuff in Access innards.

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Intermittant #Type! type mismatch error.
    By Ranger351w in forum Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-27-2020, 07:53 PM
  2. Type 13 (Type Mismatch) error
    By sdel_nevo in forum Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-22-2016, 10:01 AM
  3. Type Mismatch
    By Alex Motilal in forum Programming
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 02-13-2011, 05:42 AM
  4. Type mismatch
    By jgelpi16 in forum Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-07-2010, 06:54 AM
  5. Type Mismatch - HELP!
    By jgelpi in forum Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-17-2009, 03:53 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums