Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    cp3 is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2021
    Join Date
    Mar 2023
    Posts
    13

    Select button

    Hello all! Hopefully this is the right place to post this question. I have a database that is used on a daily basis (new data is entered daily and has been ongoing for some time) and I want to create a selectable button such that if my team clicks it on a newly entered record, I can then pool all the records with this button marked/selected and then run queries etc. only on the records where they selected the button. Does anyone know how to do this? Your feedback and help is much appreciated!!

  2. #2
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,822
    This is a split multi-user database? Allowing users to select records by setting a value in field such as Yes/No will cause conflict for simultaneous users. This is a common topic and solution is not simple.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  3. #3
    cp3 is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2021
    Join Date
    Mar 2023
    Posts
    13
    Yes it is a database on a network that many users have access to/use. It wouldn't be a yes/no button it just needs to be a little tick marker box that can be selected and allows us to compile all the records entered that have been marked.

  4. #4
    Micron is online now Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    12,737
    I'm not really seeing a problem but then maybe I'm missing a point. If a field in a table is a yes/no field (checkbox) and you select it and want to only see selected records, your query would include True or -1 as criteria on that field. Anyone who doesn't want to see just those records (i.e. they want to see all of them) will be able to see them. Sounds like you're playing around in tables though, and that's usually not a good idea. If the check will be True one time then False then True again, this is not the best way to retrieve records.
    The more we hear silence, the more we begin to think about our value in this universe.
    Paraphrase of Professor Brian Cox.

  5. #5
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,822
    Tick marker box means a yes/no field. If simultaneous users are marking records to select, they will conflict.

    Review https://stackoverflow.com/questions/...ontinuous-form
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  6. #6
    Micron is online now Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    12,737
    Not if they do like SELECT * FROM myTable ?
    EDIT - OK you mean the same record(s), so one user selects and another unselects?
    The more we hear silence, the more we begin to think about our value in this universe.
    Paraphrase of Professor Brian Cox.

  7. #7
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,822
    Yes. Each is marking/unmarking records of same table for retrieval. Nightmare!
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  8. #8
    cp3 is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2021
    Join Date
    Mar 2023
    Posts
    13
    Ah gotcha ok. Are there any recommendations for a better way to mark certain records then? The check box idea was because those entering data use their judgement on the record based on certain criteria and we want to double check this select records later on for further analysis.

  9. #9
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,822
    Well, if someone judges it should be reviewed, would someone else judge differently and unmark record? How do you document this 'review'?
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  10. #10
    CJ_London is online now VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    11,397
    rather than using a checkbox yes/no field. Use a text or preferably number field to identify the user. Then on clicking on the checkbox code checks if the field is the same user or blank. if it is then the field can be updated (blank if already populated or user if not). If it contains a different user then a message along the lines of 'marked for checking by user xxx'

    Or you could just display the user name and apply the code to that

    Or you can use a textbox, formatted to look like a checkbox or a button which can use conditional formatting to display say as green for review by current user, red for review for another user or black for available for review

  11. #11
    moke123's Avatar
    moke123 is offline Me.Dirty=True
    Windows 11 Office 365
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Location
    Ma.
    Posts
    1,643
    You could also use another table to store the PKeys of the records marked for review and use that table to retrieve the needed records.
    If this helped, please click the star * at the bottom left and add to my reputation- Thanks

  12. #12
    Gicu's Avatar
    Gicu is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Kelowna, BC, Canada
    Posts
    4,101
    And that other table should be local (in each user's front-end) to avoid conflicts, you just need to empty the table every time then populate it with the PKs of the table holding the records and join it in you "review" queries.

    Cheers,
    Vlad Cucinschi
    MS Access Developer
    http://forestbyte.com/

  13. #13
    CJ_London is online now VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    11,397
    And that other table should be local
    depends who is doing the review - if the user for their own records fine. If another for all marked records regardless of users, not so fine.

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-16-2021, 05:22 AM
  2. Select key with command button
    By juriemagic in forum Forms
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-23-2015, 08:43 AM
  3. Calendar Button to Select Dates
    By CementCarver in forum Forms
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 04-20-2013, 09:15 AM
  4. Select All Button
    By Triland in forum Forms
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 02-01-2013, 03:31 PM
  5. Radio Button Select in WebBrowser
    By access_man in forum Access
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-27-2010, 05:29 PM

Tags for this Thread

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums