Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Adding certain amount of incremental values to table, if conditions are met.

Hi everyone,
    I'm a novice in Access, SQL and VBA. I've run into an issue I don't know how to approach. I simply don't have a programmers logical mindset.

I'm trying to create a form in Access 2016 where I can add a specified amount of incremental serial numbers to a table at the push of a button.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	concept.png 
Views:	34 
Size:	4.6 KB 
ID:	49883
    What I have in my head is:
    - When button is clicked
    - If "Check" is true,
    - Add "amount" of "Name" incrementally
    - to table with a new serial number.

The whole thing is meant to add checked names to the table with the amount specified in the "amount"-box.

I'm not sure if I have described what I'm trying to do well enough. Feel free to ask questions and thank you in advance. Any help or direction is highly appreciated.

xps35 is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 10 Office 365
    Quote Originally Posted by SanguineWizard View Post
    I'm not sure if I have described what I'm trying to do well enough.
    Not really, for me anyway.

Where to start with the serial number?
    What If there are already serial numbers for that name?
    Should the name exist in an other table?
    What is the bigger picture? Why you want to do this?
    Groeten,

Peter

orange is online now Moderator
    Windows 10 Office 365
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    Requirement is not clear. Suggest you provide a few examples showing a starting scenario, and the result of some incremental add.

The
    amount of name
    is confusing.

Gicu is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit
    In the button's Click event your code would need to get the existing Max serial number for the entered Name then simply do a loop from 1 to Amount and add the record: