Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 34
  1. #1
    kostakenny is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Office 365
    Join Date
    Nov 2022
    Posts
    12

    Blank Space on report

    I have a table with information on different retaining walls (i.e. height, length, material). Some entries in the table are blank because I do not have the information available. I would like to create a form for each retaining wall that is populated based on the information in the table, but I don't want there to be any blank space on the form. For example, if I have information on a wall's height and material but not length I want the form to look like this:



    1. The wall is 10 feet tall.
    3. The wall is made of concrete.

    Instead of like this:

    1. The wall is 10 feet tall.
    2.
    3. The wall is made of concrete.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  2. #2
    Minty is online now VIP
    Windows 10 Office 365
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    UK - Wiltshire
    Posts
    3,001
    This is difficult on a data entry form, but perfectly achievable on a report.
    If the form is purely for viewing you can probably achieve this but it might depend on how your data is stored?

    Can you post up a picture of your tables in the relationship window?
    DLookup Syntax and others http://access.mvps.org/access/general/gen0018.htm
    Please use the star below the post to say thanks if we have helped !
    ↓↓ It's down here ↓↓

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Apr 2017
    Posts
    1,673
    I hope with "blank" you mean the field is empty. i.e. it has Null value (Null, not zero!).
    Use a query as RecordSource for your form. In this query, have the WHERE clause like "WHERE InformationField Is Not Null". I assume here, that your form is continuous one!
    In case your form is single one, and those information rows are really read from different fields of same table row, you need an OnCurrent event of form, which checks for every field having Null value, and when finding it, then setting all controls and labels linked to this field not visible (Visible property = False).

  4. #4
    kostakenny is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Office 365
    Join Date
    Nov 2022
    Posts
    12
    Sorry my mistake, I meant to say report!

  5. #5
    Minty is online now VIP
    Windows 10 Office 365
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    UK - Wiltshire
    Posts
    3,001
    Make the text box that holds the 0.001 point high and set it's can grow property to yes.
    It will be invisible if there is no data. It will grow to accommodate it if it's there.
    DLookup Syntax and others http://access.mvps.org/access/general/gen0018.htm
    Please use the star below the post to say thanks if we have helped !
    ↓↓ It's down here ↓↓

  6. #6
    Micron is offline Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    12,737
    It is possible to get 'empty' controls to line up neatly as if they were designed to show up there. However, you have to hide all (except maybe the first if it cannot ever be null/empty) and loop through them in form open event. As each non-null control is found, its top and left position values are altered, taking into account the desired control spacing. If the controls are all the same height, not too bad. If not, it's more complicated. I once created a sub for this based on an answer (I think in this forum) quite some time ago. Worked well.
    The more we hear silence, the more we begin to think about our value in this universe.
    Paraphrase of Professor Brian Cox.

  7. #7
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    52,815
    Why would you have blank entries if there is no data? Exactly what is your data structure - a field for each attribute (i.e. height, length, material)? You are arranging fields vertically? If so, then use Minty's idea
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  8. #8
    Micron is offline Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    12,737
    Why would you have blank entries if there is no data?
    I think it's about not showing controls when there is no data?
    I don't want there to be any blank space on the form
    This would mean a single record form design, I think. Might as well switch to continuous or datasheet and take care of the issue that way?

    EDIT - I missed this post so ignore that.
    Sorry my mistake, I meant to say report!
    The more we hear silence, the more we begin to think about our value in this universe.
    Paraphrase of Professor Brian Cox.

  9. #9
    pbaldy's Avatar
    pbaldy is offline Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    22,518
    FYI I deleted the duplicate thread and moved this one to the reports forum.
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

  10. #10
    kostakenny is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Office 365
    Join Date
    Nov 2022
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by Micron View Post
    I think it's about not showing controls when there is no data?
    This would mean a single record form design, I think. Might as well switch to continuous or datasheet and take care of the issue that way?

    EDIT - I missed this post so ignore that.
    Yes it's a report, any ideas on how to accomplish this?

  11. #11
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Swansea,South Wales,UK
    Posts
    4,858
    Quote Originally Posted by kostakenny View Post
    Yes it's a report, any ideas on how to accomplish this?
    You do not bring in records to the report that are empty?
    Please use # icon on toolbar when posting code snippets.
    Cross Posting: https://www.excelguru.ca/content.php?184
    Debugging Access: https://www.youtube.com/results?sear...bug+access+vba

  12. #12
    Micron is offline Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    12,737
    Yes it's a report, any ideas on how to accomplish this?
    What WGM just said. If you apply that and it doesn't solve the issue, then perhaps post pics of your report detail section in design and preview views. If you really have those numbers (1,2,3) then that might be the issue. If your report recordsource is a query, might help to see that too. Or just post a zipped copy of your db.
    The more we hear silence, the more we begin to think about our value in this universe.
    Paraphrase of Professor Brian Cox.

  13. #13
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Swansea,South Wales,UK
    Posts
    4,858
    Also can you change Form to Report in topic line.
    That way you will not confuse anyone joining in later in the thread?
    Please use # icon on toolbar when posting code snippets.
    Cross Posting: https://www.excelguru.ca/content.php?184
    Debugging Access: https://www.youtube.com/results?sear...bug+access+vba

  14. #14
    pbaldy's Avatar
    pbaldy is offline Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    22,518
    Quote Originally Posted by Welshgasman View Post
    Also can you change Form to Report in topic line.
    That way you will not confuse anyone joining in later in the thread?
    Done, in case OP doesn't have the ability.
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

  15. #15
    kostakenny is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Office 365
    Join Date
    Nov 2022
    Posts
    12
    Quote Originally Posted by Micron View Post
    What WGM just said. If you apply that and it doesn't solve the issue, then perhaps post pics of your report detail section in design and preview views. If you really have those numbers (1,2,3) then that might be the issue. If your report recordsource is a query, might help to see that too. Or just post a zipped copy of your db.
    Here is a sample of the table I am working with. Each retaining wall is identified by a unique WIN number in the left column. The report I am trying to generate should only contain the notes for each wall (in the image I provided, the note columns visible are "veneer not attached backup note", "veneer separated backup note", and "coping of wall note"). However, notice how every wall does not have an entry in these note columns. I do not want that to mean there will be a lank space on the report.

    I also attached a sample of what a report should look like that I prepared in MS Word. Each wall (each WIN number) will have its own comment page like this. Also each comment has its own number (for example, the "veneer not attached backup note" should be number 1-2 when the report is generated.
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Comments Page.JPG   Table.JPG  

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Blank Space appearing on Subform
    By PaulaYoung in forum Forms
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-27-2022, 06:18 PM
  2. Blank Space with Sub-Report on Main Report
    By StacyS in forum Reports
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-23-2019, 09:02 PM
  3. Blank space between fields in report header
    By cebrower in forum Reports
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 09-18-2018, 09:48 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums