Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Thim is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016

Different tables depending in value

Hi,

I would like to know if it would je possible to link different table depending on a value?

For example:
    Keep track of machinery properties
    Pump & piping
    I think in the first table you give general data and say which type. Depending on the type you link to the correct table with the properties for specific machinery.

Is this in someway possible?

Greetings

ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    Link both, then when you pick the type, load that query/table.
    put it in a combo box

combo box fields, bound column = 2: caption, tbl
    hammer, tblHammers
    nails, tblNails

in the combo , user picks Hammer in combo box,
    then it connects to the tbl
    me.recordsource = cboBox

Thim is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Thanks for the respons.
    Could you explain it a bit more? I’m rather new to access.

Micron is online now Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Equipment/Machinery types should not be allocated to different tables. If you have pumps, motors, valves, etc. it may be that each should be housed in tblEquipment which has a field to denote equipment type - and the "type" field values likely should be foreign key values from tblEquipmentTypes. If that makes no sense you might need to review database normalization.
    The more we hear silence, the more we begin to think about our value in this universe.
    Paraphrase of Professor Brian Cox.

Thim is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Oke
    I'm not so familiair with the terms you use.
    So do you mean that you make for each equipment type a different colloum? And then link the different colloums?
    Or do you mean something else?

Thim is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Could you conform that I understand you well?
    I have a tblData in which I have general data + the type defined.