Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    MacB is offline Novice
    Windows 11 Access 2016

Daily cleaning record; stuck at the beginning

Hello, I have basic knowledge of Access and trying to create a "seemingly easy" daily cleaning record for the company I work for. Every day there's a list of daily tasks (cleaning checks; bins, sink, tables and miscellaneous) that need to be signed off by any of the staff working here (each person could do any of the tasks on a given day).

I created two tables:

1) tblCleaningRecords:
    CleaningRecordID(PK - Autonumber)
    Cleaning Date

2) tblCleaningChecks:
    CleaningCheckID (PK - Autonumber)
    CleaningRecordID(FK - Number)
    CleaningCheck (Short Text)
    Signature (Short Text)

see table relationship below:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	cleaning1.png 
Views:	32 
Size:	15.6 KB 
ID:	48688

now, I know I'm missing something obvious, I'm only self-taught on Access and database design, and only for the past 2-3 months.

The end result will be a daily list of the (same four) checks on each record, and the user will just select their initials from a combobox.

I know loads about form design/basic vba code, but I don't know how to start. I created a form/subform linking them together but can't get the checks to autopopulate for every record. Any feedback much appreciated. Thanks

Bob Fitz is offline Access Developer
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    I think that you should start with your tables.

How often is the cleaning done and is that frequency the same for all the items that are cleaned?
    If this helped, please click the star at the bottom left of this posting and add to my reputation . Many thanks.
    Bob Fitzpatrick

orange is offline Moderator
    Windows 10 Office 365
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    Not sure exactly of the requirements. I suggest you review the tables and relationships to ensure you can store and retrieve the info necessary to support your "business".