Results 1 to 11 of 11
  1. #1
    Lesg is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 10 Office 365
    Join Date
    Sep 2021
    Posts
    101

    Random Parameter Box


    Hi Guys, I have create a report based on another report to keep the style consistency, however, I keep getting a parameter box appearing that was for the report I copied it from. I have visually gone through all the queries and sections of the report to try and remove, but for cannot find where it is visually to remove. Is there a way I can do a search or something to identify where it is and remove?

    Thanks in advance

  2. #2
    CJ_London is online now VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    11,398
    check the group by and sorting options for the report, plus the filter and order by properties of the report.

  3. #3
    Gicu's Avatar
    Gicu is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Kelowna, BC, Canada
    Posts
    4,101
    Look in the Filter and Order By properties of the main report and any subreports involved.

    Cheers,
    Vlad Cucinschi
    MS Access Developer
    http://forestbyte.com/

  4. #4
    Lesg is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 10 Office 365
    Join Date
    Sep 2021
    Posts
    101
    Hi Guys, Thanks for the feedback on this, still not been able to find where this is located, but having the same problem with a form, again copied from existing to keep consistency.

    When I open the form the parameter box is showing, see image:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	parameter_box_issue_image02.JPG 
Views:	29 
Size:	89.1 KB 
ID:	48670

    I can see the form is showing as filtered, the filter value is from the form that calls it with the following code:

    Code:
    Private Sub cmdOrderEdit_Click()
    DoCmd.SetWarnings False
    Dim stDocName As String
    Dim stLinkCriteria As String
       
        stDocName = "frmOrderDispatchEdit"
        DoCmd.OpenQuery "TempCustomerPriceCheckDispatch"
        stLinkCriteria = "[CustID]=" & Me![CustID]
        DoCmd.OpenForm stDocName, , , stLinkCriteria
    
    
    Forms!frmOrderDispatchEdit!accountID = accountID '.Value
    Forms!frmOrderDispatchEdit!txtcustID = CustID '.Value
    Forms!frmOrderDispatchEdit!txtaddress1 = Address2 '.Value
    Forms!frmOrderDispatchEdit!txtaddress2 = Address1 '.Value
    Forms!frmOrderDispatchEdit!txtaddress3 = Address3 '.Value '
    Forms!frmOrderDispatchEdit!txtName = CustName '.Value
    Forms!frmOrderDispatchEdit!txtpostcode = Post_Code '.Value
    Forms!frmOrderDispatchEdit.SetFocus
    End Sub
    When I select ok on the parameter box and close it, the form opens and works fine with totals and footer buttons:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	parameter_box_issue_image03.JPG 
Views:	29 
Size:	108.0 KB 
ID:	48669

    any suggestions where I can look to find this info would be appreciated.
    Last edited by Lesg; 09-09-2022 at 02:00 AM.

  5. #5
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Swansea,South Wales,UK
    Posts
    4,861
    That is likely to be criteria in the query source for the initial form?
    Open the initial form, then open the second form. The prompt should not happen?
    Please use # icon on toolbar when posting code snippets.
    Cross Posting: https://www.excelguru.ca/content.php?184
    Debugging Access: https://www.youtube.com/results?sear...bug+access+vba

  6. #6
    Lesg is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 10 Office 365
    Join Date
    Sep 2021
    Posts
    101
    Quote Originally Posted by Welshgasman View Post
    That is likely to be criteria in the query source for the initial form?
    Open the initial form, then open the second form. The prompt should not happen?
    Thanks for that suggestion, however, I am not sure I understand.

    Opening both forms, first in design mode,(frmOrderDispatch_Select), then switch the first form to form view, then switch the 2nd form , (frmOrderDispatchEdit), to form view and the parameter box still shows:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	parameter_box_issue_image04.JPG 
Views:	22 
Size:	44.0 KB 
ID:	48676

    I have also searched the code behind the first form (frmOrderDispatch_Select) and the 2nd form for the parameter value, but its not found in the code?

  7. #7
    CJ_London is online now VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    11,398
    bit confused, you started talking about reports, now you are talking about forms. And so far as I can see you have not responded to posts #2 and #3 - other than saying 'still not been able to find where this is located' - which does not mean anything. Is the 'this' you are referring to the properties you can't find?

  8. #8
    Lesg is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 10 Office 365
    Join Date
    Sep 2021
    Posts
    101
    Quote Originally Posted by CJ_London View Post
    bit confused, you started talking about reports, now you are talking about forms. And so far as I can see you have not responded to posts #2 and #3 - other than saying 'still not been able to find where this is located' - which does not mean anything. Is the 'this' you are referring to the properties you can't find?
    Hi CJ, thanks for that, sorry for confusion on this, yes the original message was to do with the report opening and the parameter box showing:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	po_parameter box 01.JPG 
Views:	22 
Size:	45.3 KB 
ID:	48677

    so assume its something in the report thats request a value for the report to open, and its also the same problem now with opening a form, albeit a different value its looking for,:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	parameter_box_issue_image04.JPG 
Views:	22 
Size:	44.0 KB 
ID:	48678

    its the same issue, just trying to locate where this is being triggered.

    HTH?

  9. #9
    Lesg is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 10 Office 365
    Join Date
    Sep 2021
    Posts
    101
    I Think I might have figured this out, just noticed that a couple of quiries run when opening the form/report, so need to look through those, will update the questions when I have chance to look in detail.

  10. #10
    CJ_London is online now VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    11,398
    and you continue to steadfastly clarify

    And so far as I can see you have not responded to posts #2 and #3 - other than saying 'still not been able to find where this is located' - which does not mean anything. Is the 'this' you are referring to the properties you can't find?

  11. #11
    Lesg is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 10 Office 365
    Join Date
    Sep 2021
    Posts
    101
    Quote Originally Posted by Lesg View Post
    I Think I might have figured this out, just noticed that a couple of quiries run when opening the form/report, so need to look through those, will update the questions when I have chance to look in detail.
    So thanks all for your help and advise with this, when I have gone through the code behind, there are queries that have the form objects and having gone through these now, have resolved these problems, both for the Reports and Forms issues mentioned.

    Many thanks

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-04-2022, 05:33 PM
  2. Replies: 19
    Last Post: 04-09-2018, 05:56 PM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-29-2015, 11:16 AM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-28-2013, 01:20 PM
  5. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 01-10-2012, 09:56 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums