Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    atuljadhav is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Office 365
    Join Date
    Aug 2022
    Posts
    15

    New query form link table ask me to enter parameter

    Hi,

    i have link table in my database "AR" which has 5 column in Text format, Next 5 Column has number/Figure/Amount format.



    now i want to filter some date from Text field, the moment i create query, select all field i required from AR table, then enter one criteria in text field to filter data,

    but when i run the query it asked me to enter parameter for the column which are in number format, i have not set any parameter in that column but still ask me to enter, when i keep blank that parameter then it give me blank value infact it has value but not show in query.

    last two column ask me to enter parameter
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.JPG 
Views:	16 
Size:	54.3 KB 
ID:	48600


  2. #2
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    51,324
    Why does it look like there is a space in front of each of those two field names in design grid? Access won't really allow that.

    If you want to provide db for analysis, follow instructions at bottom of my post.

    Really should avoid spaces and punctuation/special characters in naming convention.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Swansea,South Wales,UK
    Posts
    2,759
    I thought @June7 had cracked it there.
    Space and name is not the same as name only.

    However when I try and put a space in there, Access removes it, same if I use an alias.
    Please use # icon on toolbar when posting code snippets.
    Cross Posting: https://www.excelguru.ca/content.php?184
    Debugging Access: https://www.youtube.com/results?sear...bug+access+vba

  4. #4
    CJ_London is online now VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    10,321
    looks like OP has spaces at the front of field names in the table. OP says the table is linked so that is where the problem lies

    Solution is to remove the spaces in the source file.

  5. #5
    atuljadhav is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Office 365
    Join Date
    Aug 2022
    Posts
    15
    Yes, i had removed spaces from back side, but not checked at beginning,
    now i have Trim heading and remove space also

    now it working fine

    Thanks for your help

  6. #6
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    51,324
    The link is to what file type - txt, csv?
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Enter Parameter Value Query
    By RigoraNocels in forum Access
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-13-2018, 03:47 AM
  2. Replies: 18
    Last Post: 12-23-2017, 04:54 PM
  3. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 05-06-2016, 11:43 AM
  4. Update Query - Enter Parameter Value
    By Evans2 in forum Queries
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-10-2015, 12:22 AM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-06-2015, 01:23 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums