Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    svcghost is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    38

    Export / Import situation

    Hey guys,



    I know there are various methods for importing and exporting access database data. I was hoping you could help me in determining which method is best for my use:

    I developed an Access database for a client (consisting of tables, queries, reports, forms, macros, and modules). I frequently send the client a new version of the database by E-Mail. I want the client to be able to easily export the data in the current database version they are using, and then import it into the new database version. All that is going to be exported and imported should be TABLE data. We are assuming that the table structures will stay the same.

    What is the best method for doing this, with ease of use in mind?

    Thank you guys so much.

    P.S. I like the idea of copying and pasting all the tables from the old database version (and choosing to append data to existing tables) to the new database version. The only problem is it asks whether or not you want to append data or copy over the structure AND data for EVERY table. If only there was a way to have it ask you just once, for all tables.

  2. #2
    weekend00 is offline I may not be right
    Windows XP Access 2003
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    1,295
    Can you just copy the whole database overwriting the old one?

  3. #3
    svcghost is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    38
    Quote Originally Posted by weekend00 View Post
    Can you just copy the whole database overwriting the old one?
    No because when we send the client the new version of the database, the tables are empty. This is so the client can copy and paste the DATA from their old database to this new one.

    We do not put data into the database, they do. So we don't have legitimate data (only use test data sometimes), just the structure. We empty the tables of test data and dispatch the database.

  4. #4
    pbaldy's Avatar
    pbaldy is online now Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    21,212
    The database should be split, and you simply send them a new front end. You would only need to deal with data when table structure changes are required, and even then it can often be done by executing a DDL query on their back end.

    http://allenbrowne.com/ser-01.html

    http://www.granite.ab.ca/access/splitapp/index.htm
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

  5. #5
    svcghost is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    38
    Quote Originally Posted by pbaldy View Post
    The database should be split, and you simply send them a new front end. You would only need to deal with data when table structure changes are required, and even then it can often be done by executing a DDL query on their back end.

    http://allenbrowne.com/ser-01.html

    http://www.granite.ab.ca/access/splitapp/index.htm
    Thanks buddy! We're gonna try this.

  6. #6
    pbaldy's Avatar
    pbaldy is online now Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    21,212
    Happy to help. I think you'll be a lot happier with that structure in the long run.
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

  7. #7
    svcghost is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    38
    Hey guys,

    Though I really liked the idea of splitting the database, I ran into an issue because of it. The forms that I created to enter data to the tables now undergo problems: the multivalue dropdowns aren't showing their values after being selected. Other general issues too.

    Any ideas?

  8. #8
    pbaldy's Avatar
    pbaldy is online now Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    21,212
    I've never used the multivalue field (don't really think it was a good idea), so not sure I can help with that. There are a couple of things like Seek IIRC that don't work with linked tables. We can work through those if you want.
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. File Export
    By Kencao in forum Import/Export Data
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-01-2010, 05:27 PM
  2. Export
    By vvasudev in forum Import/Export Data
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-20-2010, 11:42 AM
  3. Prompt for filename for import/export??
    By stephenaa5 in forum Import/Export Data
    Replies: 23
    Last Post: 10-23-2009, 03:43 PM
  4. Simple access situation
    By Xi0N in forum Access
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-10-2009, 07:04 AM
  5. Export Formatting
    By arthura in forum Import/Export Data
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 02-20-2009, 08:44 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums - Senior Forums