Allyj is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2016

Help with table relationships please

Hi, I am struggling with a database relationship. I have a table "Worklog"which contains historic information about jewellery pieces that include weights and precious metals etc.
    I would like to use that information to perform
    1, a specific weight conversion based on the metal field stored in worklog table
    2, use this new value to quote a new price for the item based on a different metal choice.
    (i.e in worklog Ring24 was originally made in 9ct gold but I have a new customer who wants the same ring made in 18ct gold. I have to convert specific weight of 9ct @ 11.4g To 18ct @ 15.7g) and then with this new weight multiply it by the a new updated price per gm for 18ct gold.
    Since im a novice, im struggling to get the structure correct and maintain the original. Historic info on my Worklog table.
    🤯

Any advice gratefully welcome. 😊

CJ_London is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    first bit of advice - don't just describe the requirement provide some example data and the outcome required from that example data and how you get to that outcome. For example

1. how does 9ct @ 11.4g get to 18ct @ 15.7g?
    2. what does 'Worklog' look like? provide field names and example data for those fields?
    3. what other types of conversion are required - does converting sterling silver use exactly the same calculation? What if your customer wants to swap out a diamond for one of a different carat? or to a different stone or quality?

Allyj is offline Novice
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2016
    Sorry, forgive me I am new to posting and a novice at access. I suspect a lot of my design violates normal database design. I will try and figure this out on my own and failing that I'll take some screenshots and try to better explain the issue I am having.
    Thanks for the advice.

CJ_London is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit