Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Stevef8 is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Office 365
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    7

    Windows Permissions to run MS Access? (VBA References disbaled)

    I am supporting Access applications at a company using Office365 64-bit.

    One user is encountering an error when running an app. When the app is started, this error occurs:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	image002.png 
Views:	21 
Size:	66.5 KB 
ID:	48084

    A remote login to their PC shows that within the VBA Editor, Tools > References is disabled/greyed out, which does seem to explain this error. Launching the app using the option "Run as Administrator" enables all of the references and the app runs without error.

    Our IT techs do not want to give this user Local Admin permissions on their workstation. What else can be done to enable the VBA References?

    Thanks, Steve

  2. #2
    ranman256's Avatar
    ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    9,268
    thats how programs work. they need permission to run, otherwise why have programs?
    Access has built in safety to prevent 'bad' programs ...the yellow ENABLE button will ask the user if they want to continue (so that it's not a virus) and it lets the vb run.

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Swansea,South Wales,UK
    Posts
    2,526
    Why do they need to compile?, they should just be opening a compiled db?
    Please use # icon on toolbar when posting code snippets.
    Cross Posting: https://www.excelguru.ca/content.php?184
    Debugging Access: https://www.youtube.com/results?sear...bug+access+vba

  4. #4
    Stevef8 is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Office 365
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    7
    You've made an assumption here that doesn't apply. We've already gone through the Trust Center to bypass that very annoying ENABLE button; that's not what's happening.

    The question is: are there Windows OS Permission settings that can be changed that will enable the References the app needs to run the VBA code in the forms?

    While I'm relatively new to this forum, I've been writing Access apps in VBA and SQL for over 20 years, including SQL Server front-ends. This is the first time I've encountered this. Perhaps it's something new in Office365 that hasn't been there in previous versions?

  5. #5
    Stevef8 is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Office 365
    Join Date
    Jun 2020
    Posts
    7
    Quote Originally Posted by Welshgasman View Post
    Why do they need to compile?, they should just be opening a compiled db?
    Good question. Converting the app to an MDE appears to disable all the command buttons and their associated functionality. Further suggestions welcomed.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Swansea,South Wales,UK
    Posts
    2,526
    Please use # icon on toolbar when posting code snippets.
    Cross Posting: https://www.excelguru.ca/content.php?184
    Debugging Access: https://www.youtube.com/results?sear...bug+access+vba

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-20-2020, 04:01 PM
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 04-23-2019, 03:31 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-11-2018, 10:11 AM
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 03-09-2017, 04:08 PM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 03-27-2013, 02:44 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums