Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    RAPSR is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2000
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    El Paso, Texas
    Posts
    6

    Create Property

    Using CreateQueryDef() to create Queries. Using the following code.

    Code

    With DB
    Set qdfNew = .CreateQueryDef("NewQryDef", "SELECT * FROM Categories")

    End With

    Works Fine.

    I am having a problem in creating a Property using the CreateProperty Method to create the property "Description" so I can add remarks in the "Description" property as to what the query is intended to do.



    Is there anyone out there that can share information as to how to use the CreateProperty to add the Description property and then fill in a remark?

    Richard

  2. #2
    ajetrumpet is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2007
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    N/A
    Posts
    2,694
    there should never be any need to create queries and modify it's properties this way Richard. It is available through the interface.

  3. #3
    RAPSR is offline Novice
    Windows Vista Access 2000
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    El Paso, Texas
    Posts
    6
    I agree with you. In the design stage of a query, after I have saved the query, I go to the "Description" property using the interface and manually enter my remarks to help me remember what the query's function is.

    However, the program that I devised allows a user to create a query using a form that accepts input from the user and ultimately saves the query in a table. When the subject user calls the CreateQuery method his query is added, and then removed when he is finished using the query.

    However as the programmer, and the fact that there are over 300 queries in the system it would make my job easier if I could find his query, while the query is active, if there is a problem. Perhaps there is no way to programmatically achive what I have asked.

    However, wouldn't it be nice if this could be done.

    Are you certain that this cannot be done? If so, please say that it cannot be done so I will not continue trying to accomplish this.

    Thank you

    Richard

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. the property is read only and cannot be set
    By darksniperx in forum Access
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 11-02-2012, 02:48 PM
  2. Can Grow Property
    By chum in forum Reports
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-25-2010, 11:10 AM
  3. Caption Property & Queries
    By jhrBanker in forum Queries
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-21-2009, 02:28 AM
  4. Can Grow Property
    By MFeightner in forum Reports
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 06-24-2009, 11:50 AM
  5. 'On Open' Property
    By emilylu3 in forum Forms
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 12-08-2005, 02:28 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums