Results 1 to 13 of 13
  1. #1
    KeithK is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Posts
    5

    Property Not Found error

    Hi,
    Just started getting 'property not found' errors
    when updating anything in Access this morning.


    Have never gotten that error before. I tried
    compacting and repairing the database. The errors are still popping up.
    Any other suggestions to try before having to resort
    to a back-up?

    Thanks,
    Keith

  2. #2
    Micron is offline Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    10,626
    I suggest you step through the code and see where it's raising the error and post that line. It could be that code is trying to assign a value to a database property that doesn't exist by default, or to a custom property that is handled by Property Let and Property Get statements.
    The more we hear silence, the more we begin to think about our value in this universe.
    Paraphrase of Professor Brian Cox.

  3. #3
    orange's Avatar
    orange is offline Moderator
    Windows 10 Office 365
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    Posts
    16,055

  4. #4
    moke123's Avatar
    moke123 is offline Me.Dirty=True
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    1,087
    Do you have option explicit declared in all your modules? Does your code compile?
    If this helped, please click the star * at the bottom left and add to my reputation- Thanks

  5. #5
    pbaldy's Avatar
    pbaldy is online now Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    22,043
    There are reports of a bug in the latest Office update, v2204 I think it was. If you have that, you may try on a computer that doesn't have it, or revert to the previous version.
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

  6. #6
    Minty is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Office 365
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    UK - Wiltshire
    Posts
    2,213
    DLookup Syntax and others http://access.mvps.org/access/general/gen0018.htm
    Please use the star below the post to say thanks if we have helped !
    ↓↓ It's down here ↓↓

  7. #7
    KeithK is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Posts
    5
    Hi,
    Thanks to all for your replies! The error message is not showing
    up anymore this morning! Didn't change anything! Also, we are not
    getting Windows updates, because of a prior error caused by
    a Windows update. So that wasn't the issue. I wonder if IT had re-booted the network
    drive we are accessing the database. Or something else may have caused it?
    A $2 mystery. The error is a vague one - could not find any real reason as to what causes it. Have been running
    an Access database pretty much flawlessly for over 15 years. Keith

  8. #8
    pbaldy's Avatar
    pbaldy is online now Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    22,043
    The suspect is not a Windows update, it's an Office update. Are you on O365?
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

  9. #9
    keviny04 is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 10 Office 365
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    117
    Quote Originally Posted by KeithK View Post
    Hi,
    Just started getting 'property not found' errors
    when updating anything in Access this morning.
    Have never gotten that error before. I tried
    compacting and repairing the database. The errors are still popping up.
    Any other suggestions to try before having to resort
    to a back-up?

    Thanks,
    Keith
    They seemed to have just fixed it. Now my databases have no more of these errors.

    Yes, I got this error too and a whole lot more. Someone blogged about it here. I got all those errors mentioned, plus "automation" errors, "can't find the field referred to in your expression," etc. My code that had been working for years suddenly caused errors that had nothing to do with anything. And they were untrappable errors too. They popped up after I closed all forms, with all code executions already ended. I was completely in the dark, and I was extremely lucky to locate two lines of code that triggered two of those errors -- and both had to do with subforms and the Recordset object. I remarked those out or avoided using Recordset, and that particular error went away.

    This is not the first time that mysterious errors or issues occurred in MS 365 apps. Make sure you have adequate backups. If you have to use a backup for testing (such as in this situation), make a backup OF THAT backup, then use the 2nd backup for testing.

  10. #10
    orange's Avatar
    orange is offline Moderator
    Windows 10 Office 365
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    Posts
    16,055

  11. #11
    KeithK is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Posts
    5
    I meant to say that we are not getting more Office
    updates, not Windows updates.
    We are one O365, version 16.0.14701.20226
    (the version after this one caused problems, so
    we reverted back to this one.). Still don't know why
    we got those 'property not found' errors. But, we are
    no longer seeing them. Keith

  12. #12
    Minty is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Office 365
    Join Date
    Sep 2017
    Location
    UK - Wiltshire
    Posts
    2,213
    DLookup Syntax and others http://access.mvps.org/access/general/gen0018.htm
    Please use the star below the post to say thanks if we have helped !
    ↓↓ It's down here ↓↓

  13. #13
    keviny04 is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 10 Office 365
    Join Date
    Apr 2015
    Posts
    117
    Quote Originally Posted by Minty View Post
    That's fascinating info, but disconcerting. Instead of having to ask a non-disclosure guy from Microsoft to explain, we need DEFINITE PUBLIC DISCLOSURE when something like this happens so we won't be kept in the dark for 24 hours.

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Property not found error
    By Monty51 in forum Access
    Replies: 33
    Last Post: 08-26-2021, 02:21 PM
  2. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-04-2020, 06:58 AM
  3. Item not found in this collection .Fields(x) property
    By ironfelix717 in forum Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-19-2019, 10:53 PM
  4. Table suddenly says "Property Not Found"
    By templeowls in forum Access
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-03-2019, 08:45 AM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-13-2019, 01:53 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums