Talking Programming Approach for Pattern Layouts

Greetings friends, I'm a bit new here so if I end up posting in the wrong area I apologize in advance.

Odd question,
    I am a pattern designer utilizing Access to organize a clothing and accessory design system. It essentially uses taken measures from a person and does a block analysis of how their pattern should be laid out, and then does a structuring using the vba/adobe illustrator library according toa formulaic substructure. At this point in the game the table structure is well assembled, and the interface is coming along swimmingly.

However, looking at how my calculation entry I realized that my programming is over elaborate, hard to correct for and the addition of new block sets is incredibly daunting. I'd like to be able to simplify the process so that someone other than me can do the blocking procedures.

The process boils down to

Measurement Organization
    Point Calculation (x,y) format <---- Insert dillema here
    Schema grouping of points for parser
    Parser eats the points, lays out the pattern(s) into a graphic layout
    Archiving of finished pattern set

After some time I've managed to break down the other four categories into a digestable series of steps. The calculation step is the difficult one

My approaches to this problem are as follows (including pros and cons)

1. VBA calculation sets and commital of arrays
    PROS: Reliable, looks nice as an accomplishment
    CONS: Not many people who would be using this system would be capable of programming

2. Excel templates
    PROS: Easy to make out and look pretty for the not so tech savvy. Easy to format so users can insert their own block equations, easier to expedite
    CONS: System would be based on import and export of data to and from excel and access. Create a template, populate with custom metrics, import the results, kill the file.

3. Table Math (friends recommendation)