Enioch is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Office 365

Best practices for behind-the-scenes calculations of values with easily-changeable variables.

Greetings, accessfolk!

First post here, and I am an Access newbie (beyond, you know, the basic 'lol make table, lol make form, clicky clicky relationships'), so please tailor your responses accordingly and please don't feel offended if I say something that violates your sensitivities on how a database should be designed

My situation is as follows: I am building a database that will be used in the context of a strategy game, to generate 'costs' for units that the players will be able to design themselves. In a nutshell, players input some values into specific stats for their units, some behind-the-scenes crunchiness takes place and then Access spits out a unit 'cost' that is derived from these calculations.

I have been working with Excel so far, but while I have had no problems with writing the functions and algorithms for doing the calculations, I am not happy with the massive / multiple workbooks that I start getting once more and more units are generated, and I would like to switch to Access, if possible.

The main problem is that I want to translate the basic Excel functionality I currently have into Access without falling into the trap of 'spreadsheet thinking', and I want to make sure that I'm designing the DB in a way that makes sense in the long term. As my experience with Access is relatively lacking, I would like to consult you fine people for as much advice as I can.

Allow me to present you with a scenario:

I give each of my units a basic 'speed', in an integer from 1 to 8. This speed needs to be run through a calculation that involves at least 4 adjustable parameters applied to all units equally (something like cost = A*speed^B / C^D) to get the final 'cost' the unit gets for its speed stat. So, if A = 2, B = 3, C = 4, D = 5, a unit with speed 6 would have a total speed cost of 0.421875.