JuanL is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016

Using Queries to create entries

I am fairly new to Access, FYI

I am making a vendor database that includes the types of services offered by a vendor. I would like to have something like a Multiple Items form that is filled with the different services and a checkbox to indicate if the vendor offers that service. The only thing is that I don't want to create a checkbox for every type of service especially in the case that we add something. What I've done is create a table that includes the service field and a checkbox. A separate table houses vendor info like name and address. One query makes a list of the vendor names. I use a separate query to pull the service and checkbox with the vendor name query. This almost does what I want. It ties a vendor name to the whole list. This way, I can open the form and filter by name. However, I cannot update the checkbox. I get why: there are multiple vendors trying to control the same checkbox - in a sense. Is there an automated way to do this besides creating a checkbox for each service?

CJ_London is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    What you are describing is a many to many relationship so you need 3 tables, not 2.

tblVendors
    VendorPK
    VendorName

tblServices
    ServicePK
    ServiceName

tblVendorServices
    VendorServicePK
    VendorFK
    ServiceFK

PK=Primary Key to uniquely identify the record
    FK=Foreign Key - to identify with vendor or service

in a form you would have a main form based on tblVendors and a subform based on tblVendorServices which would use a combo to select a service from tblServices

or the other way round - a main form based on tblServices and a subform based on tblVendorServices which would use a combo to select a vendor from tblVendors

JuanL is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Ajax