cbuechner is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 10 Access 2007

AUto Generated EMail

First, this site is the best! I am still learning.

I want to autogenerate an email when a value in a access query has been reached. I am researching it, but the only thing I can find is excel. Maybe it cant be done.

Windows 10 Access 2007

AUto Generated EMail

Ok love this site.

I would like like the ability to send out an email (automatically) when a query result reaches a value. Not sure if this is possible. The only research I can find is from excel.

Micron is online now Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Certainly, but you will have to do it with code. Queries cannot send emails. There are lots of code samples posted that show how to send emails, some deal with sending reports and such, but the code for automating Outlook is pretty much the same. All your code would need is to get the trigger value from somewhere. If it's in a table already, you don't even need a query. If the query calculates the value, then probably do need it. So a lot more info about what you have will be required to get more focused responses.
    The more we hear silence, the more we begin to think about our value in this universe.
    Paraphrase of Professor Brian Cox.

Windows 10 Access 2016
    The more we hear silence, the more we begin to think about our value in this universe.

Windows 10 Access 2007
    Ok the user enters data into the "MAIN_DATA". In it, they enter values for hours in multiple occurrences. On a separate query, called "TOTAL_HOURS", the occurce hours are displayed, and then a total calculates all of them together. This is also called "Totoal_Hours". I want, when the value for any of the entry, in this case "Serial Number" has a "total_hours" of anything over 15 hours.

CJ_London is online now VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit