Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    chrisleng is offline Novice
    Windows 7 Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    19

    Continuous Form in Access Runtime doesn't have the data aware filter options, how can I enable this?

    when I open my Accde on a PC with Access installed I can open the continuous form and right click on any field to start filtering it, this makes it quick and easy to make forms with many fields to filter and work on without having to hard code filter options onto buttons on the form etc,



    However I've noticed if I open my Accde on a PC with Runtime, there is no right click dialogue,

    I've started down the "Set cmbRightClick = CommandBars.Add("cmdFormFiltering", msoBarPopup, False, True)" route, however this isn't data aware, so where a date field gives a whole host of handy period options etc, I can't easily recreate that,

    What's the best workaround for this?

    Also on a more generic level, if this is a bit of an X/Y problem, what's the easiest way to let users filter a continuous form?

  2. #2
    ranman256's Avatar
    ranman256 is online now VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    9,524
    some options don't show in runtime.
    if you can still design it, add a text box in the header to do the filtering:

    Code:
    sub btnFind_click()
    Code:
    sWhere = "1=1"
    if not isnull(cboState) then   sWhere = sWhere & " and [state]='" & cboState & "'"
    if not IsNull(txtName) then    sWhere = sWhere & " and [Name]='" & txtName & "'"
    if not IsNull(cboGender) then    sWhere = sWhere & " and [Gender]='" & cboGender & "'"
    
     'then filer
    if sWhere = "1=1" then
       me.filterOn = false
    else
       me.filter = sWhere
       me.filterOn = true
    endif
    end sub
    


  3. #3
    chrisleng is offline Novice
    Windows 7 Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Posts
    19
    oh, I thought I replied, the problem with that is i've got 20 fields, I've already been down that slippery slope with another form and probably have 200+ lines of filter management code I never want to have to deal with again, I'd really just like a right click dialogue that works

  4. #4
    CJ_London is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    11,412
    runtime has a number of missing features, the primary ones being navigation window, a reduced ribbon and as you have discovered, right click menus.

    You will have to write your own shortcut menu(s) to replace them - see this link

    https://stackoverflow.com/questions/...u-in-ms-access

    I think the ID for filtering is 10068

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 04-14-2020, 05:44 AM
  2. FILTER BY FORM on a Access 2013 runtime version
    By pjtessi9 in forum Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-02-2020, 06:58 AM
  3. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 12-09-2015, 11:28 AM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 07-21-2014, 06:08 AM
  5. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 07-27-2012, 12:23 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums