Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    msouriya is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    11

    Access is only allowing one user at a time

    I have an access database that is housed on the share drive. I've split the database already. I made copies of the front end and placed on each user's desktop; for years we've been able to use the database simultaneously; however recently it's saying "file already in use" whenevever there multiple users are trying to use it. This year, I added a password the our database, so I"m no sure if that's they its affecting the database, so I went ahead and took of the password option, but it's not letting multiple users use the database. Please help!!!



    ~Mani

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Swansea,South Wales,UK
    Posts
    1,633
    There has been an ms bug knocking around now for over a week?

    See https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...0-d079a46f5acc
    Please use # icon on toolbar when posting code snippets.
    Cross Posting: https://www.excelguru.ca/content.php?184
    Debugging Access: https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=debug+access+vba



  3. #3
    msouriya is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    11
    I'm a basic level access developer. Thank you for the link, but I am still confused of how to resolve this issue. Please help me? Thank you!

  4. #4
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Swansea,South Wales,UK
    Posts
    1,633
    Just get everyone to update their version of office. The instructions are in the link. Get your IT dept to sort it, if they control updates.

    Search here, it has been asked several times over the past week.

    However, you are showing 2007 in your details?, I doubt that would have been affected?
    Please use # icon on toolbar when posting code snippets.
    Cross Posting: https://www.excelguru.ca/content.php?184
    Debugging Access: https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=debug+access+vba



  5. #5
    msouriya is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    11

    Update to Office 365, but sill not can't have multiple users

    Quote Originally Posted by Welshgasman View Post
    Just get everyone to update their version of office. The instructions are in the link. Get your IT dept to sort it, if they control updates.

    Search here, it has been asked several times over the past week.

    However, you are showing 2007 in your details?, I doubt that would have been affected?
    Hi actually my Access was 2016; I just didn't know how to change it on my profile. So, I was to my to update office to Office 365; Version 2111 (Build 14701.20262 Click-to-Run); now I went to update a user's office and it shows her version was Version 2112 (Build 14729.20260 Click-to-Run) and so I tested it out by opending my the front end from the S drive and then tried to open hers at the same time, but it's giving the same message about file in use. Please help?

    ~Mani

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Swansea,South Wales,UK
    Posts
    1,633
    AFAIK ALL programs that have accessed the BE need to be updated?
    Have a Google, as it is affecting thousands of people, not just you.

    I am a home user, on 2007, so not affected, but people are coming on here and other sites asking the same question, and the chances are 99.99999% that is the cause.
    Please use # icon on toolbar when posting code snippets.
    Cross Posting: https://www.excelguru.ca/content.php?184
    Debugging Access: https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=debug+access+vba



  7. #7
    msouriya is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2007
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Posts
    11
    That's what I'm trying to explain. My office has been updated and user's office has been updated, but it still didn't get fixed. What do I do next?

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Swansea,South Wales,UK
    Posts
    1,633
    So there are only two users?
    Look at the first article here https://www.utteraccess.com/
    Other than that, I do not know what to suggest. Sorry.
    Please use # icon on toolbar when posting code snippets.
    Cross Posting: https://www.excelguru.ca/content.php?184
    Debugging Access: https://www.youtube.com/results?search_query=debug+access+vba



Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-23-2019, 07:20 AM
  2. Allowing User Input in Report View
    By nick404 in forum Reports
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-02-2015, 03:00 PM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-28-2014, 10:17 AM
  4. Help with allowing administrator access using user name
    By BiotechJen in forum Programming
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 01-30-2013, 11:02 AM
  5. Split Database only allowing single user access
    By terricritch in forum Database Design
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-08-2011, 11:12 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums