New to Access and have questions

Good Afternoon,

I'm very new to Access and I have a few questions about a project I'm working on if some could be so kind as to point me in the right direction to learn how to do this in Access I would be most appreciative.

I have a database of 98,000 names, address, city, state, zip... and some of these names are individuals and some are companies

Do I have to have two separate tables of redundant data, which from what I read is a no no, or can I pull the individuals names by I_Last Name I_First Name and the companies contacts by C_ Last Name and C_First Name if they are designated in the Excel spreadsheets that way? I'm exporting the data from Excel into Access.

I also need to run a query via with an range of zip codes- is there a good script or online tutorial which will assist me please?

I'm curious if the field has no data established as of yet such as sales that haven't happened can one develop a table and report without the data?

Thanking you in advance for your time.

Sincerely yours,
    Michelle

cwf is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007

Yes, you can do it all.

First thing you want to ask yourself is, are the companies and the individuals are related? Even if they are then it might be better to keep them in separate tables. They can be linked by “key” fields, and joined together for reports, forms, whatever.