Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    D-Train is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Office 365

Migrating from Access 365 to SQL Server 2019 Express

Hi guys, I hit the 2GB limit on my Access 365 database and am attempting to migrate everything into a new installation of SQL Server 2019 Express. I ran the SSMA utility and got a lot of the data migrated but have hit some snags. I'm a novice when it comes to using Access and SQL Server so go easy on me, though I'm very computer literate.

For one thing I need to delete some unused indexes that are getting lots of errors during migration. Access help gives the following instructions for deleting unneeded indexes:

"Delete an index

If you find that an index becomes unnecessary or is having too great an impact on performance, you can delete it. When you delete an index, you remove only the index and not the field or fields on which it is built.

1. In the Navigation Pane, right-click the name of the table that you want to delete the index in, and then click Design View on the shortcut menu.
    2. On the Design tab, in the Show/Hide group, click Indexes."

I can't find the menu options they are talking about, though it's probably very simple. In my navigation pane I have no tables listed (other than the newly created SSMA tables), only shortcuts, forms, queries, reports, like this:

3. Everything in the Navigation pane that I right click on, then select "Design view" I don't see any menu options like they say that say "Design Tab" in "Show/Hide Group". Here is also a shot of my migration report. You can see there are a bunch of indexes that are garbage, I have no idea where all the "new_new_new" BS came from?:

I also read on one of Microsoft's webpages that SQL Server cannot import an "attachment" column from a table because it does not support attachments. What?!?!? This is an assets database which contains a very import column for attaching a photo of the asset. How will I get around this limitation?