Zerameth is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Office 365

Relational assesment, data modelling and table queries for simple list

Hi everyone,

I have an excel sheet with 5000 rows which I want to export into MS Access as I realised it was becoming unmanageable and wanted a better data storage option.
    But as a complete beginner, I’m struggling to visualise how I would structure this database, in terms of data modelling. The data consists of:

• a list of world destinations with a science theme and includes several ‘categories’, e.g. accommodation / natural world / science centers / historical places.
    • all the records have SOME common fields, such as country, address, GPS coordinates, description, contact name, web url etc
    • but each category also has fields which don’t apply to others – e.g. only the accommodation category will have sub-categories such as ‘hotel’, ‘B&B’ and ‘camping’ and often ‘room capacity’.

• each country will have many records across all categories – I will be giving my team individual countries to manage/keep updated - or even split into regions for larger countries, but I haven’t looked at forms yet.

Can anyone advise, please? I can obviously adapt the excel sheet accordingly. So….

• Do I stick to one table with lots of empty fields?
    • Should I have a table per category (or even more tables) - and which other benefits would that give, apart from fewer empty fields?
    • I can't see many relational aspects i.e. ALL records are simply ‘science destinations’ at their basic level. Apart from Contact Names below:

Contact Names - this is the only part I think I can figure out:

• Each contact name may cover more than one destination, but this will only apply to about 1 or 2% of the records – most records will have unique contact names.
    • Some records may have multiple contact names
    • Some records will have NO contact name, but I can input N/A or TBC.