Results 1 to 14 of 14
  1. #1
    jmuirman1 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    84

    need help with relational combo box

    The relational Combo box i made uses another table. the problem is that when i click on the combo box, the list of data shows up but when clicking on the data in the list, i can't choose any of the things from the table.



    just having a brain fog because i've successfully created several combo boxes the same way.

    my from is based on a query. in the query i joined NewCasesT and ProfAdminT and chose ref integ (2), just like the other combo box prep.

    maybe this will help:
    SELECT [ProfAdminT].[ProfAdminID], [ProfAdminT].[ProfAdminName], [ProfAdminT].[ProfAdminAddress], [ProfAdminT].[ProfAdminTIN] FROM ProfAdminT ORDER BY [ProfAdminName];

    Any suggestions?

    Thanks,

    John

  2. #2
    Missinglinq's Avatar
    Missinglinq is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Richmond (Virginia, not North Yorkshire!)
    Posts
    3,016
    I suspect that the problem is not really the Combobox but the Form! Can you enter any data in other Controls on the Form? Multi-table Forms are frequently Read-Only...and this would prevent selections from being made from the Combobox.

    Linq ;0)>
    The problem with making anything foolproof...is that fools are so darn ingenious!

    All posts/responses based on Access 2003/2007

  3. #3
    davegri's Avatar
    davegri is offline Excess Access
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Denver
    Posts
    3,388
    Did you forget these properties?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	combo.png 
Views:	33 
Size:	17.6 KB 
ID:	45858

  4. #4
    jmuirman1 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    84
    possibly. Column count is 4 and the widths vary. should i change?

    thanks

  5. #5
    davegri's Avatar
    davegri is offline Excess Access
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Denver
    Posts
    3,388
    possibly. Column count is 4 and the widths vary. should i change?
    That sounds plausible. Perhaps you could post your DB here for a look at other possibilities.

  6. #6
    jmuirman1 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    84
    how do i post my db?

    thanks

  7. #7
    davegri's Avatar
    davegri is offline Excess Access
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Denver
    Posts
    3,388
    At the top of the Forum page see tab "How to attach files"

  8. #8
    CJ_London is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    11,397
    this comment
    the problem is that when i click on the combo box, the list of data shows up but when clicking on the data in the list. i can't choose any of the things from the table.
    it's not clear to me what this means? Are you expecting the form to refresh with the selected item? or do you want the form to pick up the other columns of the list? or something else?

  9. #9
    jmuirman1 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    84
    when i click on the list, anywhere on the list, you hear that "ding" sound and you can't select anything. i had this problem before and i remember it was an easy fix but just can't remember what i did. driving me nuts i can't solve it.

    thanks

  10. #10
    jmuirman1 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    84
    I retraced my steps and have isolated the problem.
    Haven't created the combo box yet.
    Steps:
    1. I created a new table called ProfAdminT. Fields are [ProfAdminID] (primary Key), [ProfName], [ProfAddress] and [ProfTIN]
    2. I added [ProfAdminID] to another table called TNewCases
    3. Opened query called NewCasesByClaimantQ
    4. Added ProfAdminT Access automatically joined ProfAdminT to NewCasesByClaimantQ
    5. Changed "Join" properties to #2
    5. Added fields to query: [ProfAdminID] (primary Key), [ProfName], [ProfAddress] and [ProfTIN]
    Here is the problem: when i run the query and try to enter a number in the [ProfAdminID] field, Access won't let me. Hear the "ding" sound from my laptop.

    What am i doing wrong?

    Thanks,

    John

  11. #11
    Join Date
    May 2018
    Location
    Living in Scotland UK
    Posts
    1,557
    Hi John

    Only way to resolve this one is for you to upload the database.
    You can PM me if you need further help.
    Good Reading https://docs.microsoft.com/en-gb/off...on-description

  12. #12
    davegri's Avatar
    davegri is offline Excess Access
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Denver
    Posts
    3,388
    when i run the query and try to enter a number in the [ProfAdminID] field, Access won't let me. Hear the "ding" sound from my laptop.
    Is ProfAdminID an autonumber? Autonumbers cannot be entered or updated by the user. If so, they wouldn't be autonumbers, no?

  13. #13
    CJ_London is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    11,397
    per linq in post #2 - you have a multi table recordsource to your form, these are not normally updateable. Suggest your main form should be based on ProfAdminT and have a subform based on TNewCases

    try to enter a number in the [ProfAdminID] field
    and which one would that be? you have two - recommend rename with a PK and FK suffix to differentiate them

  14. #14
    jmuirman1 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Aug 2016
    Posts
    84
    Thanks everyone! I found my mistake. i selected [ProfAdminID] from the ProfAdminT to appear in the query but should have selected [ProfAdminID] from TNewCases. how dumb.

    thanks again,

    John

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 03-10-2018, 04:50 PM
  2. Relational help
    By anastam in forum Access
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 03-07-2016, 03:00 PM
  3. Relational Tables
    By soprano in forum Access
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 11-30-2014, 02:18 AM
  4. Relational databases
    By samdahlr in forum Access
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 07-29-2014, 01:36 PM
  5. Relational tables help
    By BarbT in forum Access
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-21-2010, 09:03 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums