oransen is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2013 64bit

Hierarchical database design

I'm a CAD programmer so forgive the possible idiocy of this question.

I have a database which is used to create 3D mechanical designs.

Every product and part has an 8 digit code, the SAP code.

Currently I have a "central" two column table which consists of the SAP code and an optional description, CodiceSAP.

Then the sub-tables have more details about each part, so Tubi (tubes) have materials diameters etc, and EndPlates have details about end plates, and so on etc. Tubi has its own column linked back to CodiceSAP, and so does EndPlates, and all the other "sub part" tables.

Here it is:

Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Central_ode.png 
Views:	28 
Size:	68.0 KB 
ID:	45746

Currently I'm populating the database by hand and it is a bit of a bind to have to fill in the central CodiceSAP table before having to fill in, for example, the Tubi table.

My question is: Is that central CodiceSAP table neccessary?

I can see that it helps me prevent having an end plate with the same SAP code as a tube, especially if I put a description there, but is that enough of a reason to have that central table? Am I missing some subtle advantage...?

TIA!

CJ_London is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    might be easier if you have one table for all parts. OK there will be some redundant fields depending on the part, but you can make some fields multi functional in that for one part it might represent height and in another diameter. Either way, empty fields take up no space.

Your diagram is showing a lot of 1 to 1 relationships which is a very rare requirement - and I suspect not relevant in this case. Looks like you can combine EndPlates, GruppoColl, cctAssemblies, CodiciSAP, Tubi and GruppoDistrib into one table

You also appear to have a number of relationship loops which also is not a normal requirement