spidge32 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 10 Access 2013 32bit

Combo Box, Filling in a field dependent on a combo box selection

Hi, I'm new to Access and VBA. I have inherited a small project which has several Combo Boxes and I need to extract and complete the form with data from other tables dependent on the combo box selection. It is a very simple combo box table with 2 fields.

WireCode, WireDescription.

On the form is a combo box attached to the table wire.

On the selection of the WireCode I need it to update a field on the form fldWdgWireDesc, this is the code I have tried in lots of variations but I cannot get past the error "Invalid Outside Procedure"
    This is the code.

Private Sub_WireCombo_AfterUpdate

[fldWdgWireDesc] = DLookup("[tblWire]![WireDescription]", "tblWire", "[Wirecode]=[fldWdgWire]")

Me.Refresh

endsub

Any help would be appreciated.

davegri is offline Excess Access
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    The sub syntax has an underline that shouldn't be there:

Private Sub WireCombo_AfterUpdate()

and the dlookup:

fldWdgWireDesc = DLookup("WireDescription", "tblWire", "Wirecode=" & fldWdgWire)

Above assumes fldWdgWire is a number.

The whole picture above may be the wrong approach. Generally, the purpose of the combobox is to do the lookup and find the desired value. Maybe the dlookup is redundant.
    Perhaps you should post your DB so that we can take a look and make more focused recommendations.

Thank you the quick reply, removed underline in sub.

The Fields WireCode and WireDescription are both Short Text. Can you explain each element of the DLookup? To me it seems like this, but maybe I'm miss undetstanding the syntax. The DLookup function is used throughout the project to populate fields in forms so I would like to keep the code similar if possible.

[fldWdgWireDesc] = DLookup("[tblWire]![WireDescription]", "tblWire", "[Wirecode]=[fldWdgWire]")

Field to be Updated