Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    tyson9699 is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016

Append query that adds records to multiple tables

Hello everyone, I'm new to Access and I would like to ask if there is a way you can create a single query that adds new records to at least 2 tables?

To be more specific, I have 2 tables: Bookings and Course Schedule (which contains a "Number of bookings" field).
    I want to make a query that allows users to add a new record in the Bookings table, and by doing so, they are also adding 1 value to the "Number of bookings" in the Course Schedule table.

It now seems to me like query design only allows you to add records to one table at a time, and you can't have multiple query functions (eg, append and update) in one query.

kd2017 is offline Well, I tried at least.
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Correct, you can't execute multiple sql statements in one saved query in access.

What do your tables look like? Is it incrementing a record or adding a new record to the schedule table?

How is the user executing the query to begin with? If it's a button then just have the button call the second query. Or you could call it on a form's AfterInsert event. Or a number of other ways like a table macro for example.

Windows 10 Access 2016
    Thank you for the response. I thought of another way to do it, which is by somehow making the fields in the "Number of bookings" somewhat like the =SUMIF function in Excel. Is there an equivalent function in Access?

Minty is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Office 365
    If you are able to calculate the number of bookings from other data, then you shouldn't store this information, simply calculate and display it when you need it in a query.

A picture of your tables design or some sample data would assist in giving you the correct advice.
    DLookup Syntax and others http://access.mvps.org/access/general/gen0018.htm
    Please use the star below the post to say thanks if we have helped !