Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Paul H's Avatar
    Paul H is offline Expert
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    573

    Trusted Locations not working

    I've noticed the Enable Content button popping up more frequently. Running through so many new version of my applications I just started blowing it off, but even when I create a new Trusted Location I still get this warning. These same applications run just fine on other machines once the Enable Content button is clicked the first time. This is more than just an inconvenience. I need to know before I distribute these apps that I am not distributing something that will generate these warnings each time they open the app. This only started happening in the past month or so?

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Enable Content 1.JPG 
Views:	19 
Size:	27.6 KB 
ID:	45386
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Enable Content 2.JPG 
Views:	18 
Size:	31.6 KB 
ID:	45387

    Any thoughts?

    Thanks in advance.



    Paul

  2. #2
    Gicu's Avatar
    Gicu is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Kelowna, BC, Canada
    Posts
    2,574
    Hi Paul,

    Do you have some third-party add-ins in your application? Is this happening on all machines or just one? Usually once you click Enable you get a prompt to make the app a Trusted Document, do you get that?

    Maybe this could help:
    https://admx.help/?Category=Office20...tTrustedAddins

    Cheers,
    Vlad Cucinschi
    MS Access Developer
    http://forestbyte.com/

  3. #3
    Bulzie is offline VIP
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2007
    Join Date
    Nov 2015
    Posts
    1,369
    I believe with Access 2007, you have to add the Trusted Connection to the path the custom database is, not where Access is loaded. I think in 2010 and higher just clicking the Enable will set it to trusted. So if you did add that trusted path, not sure why it is asking for the Enabled button again.

  4. #4
    Paul H's Avatar
    Paul H is offline Expert
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Sep 2011
    Location
    Richmond, VA
    Posts
    573
    I do have Access Development Tools Find and Replace installed and by coincidence the trial period expired 10 days ago. I bet that is it.
    This is only happening on my PC.

    This may be a clue.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Enable Content 3.JPG 
Views:	12 
Size:	18.2 KB 
ID:	45390

    Since my IT security group will never approve purchasing it, I might as well uninstall it. That's a shame because it's a great tool.

  5. #5
    Gicu's Avatar
    Gicu is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Kelowna, BC, Canada
    Posts
    2,574
    I think your right, in your initial post your screen shot was mentioning COM add-ins therefore my question.

    Cheers,
    Vlad Cucinschi
    MS Access Developer
    http://forestbyte.com/

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Setting Trusted Locations with VBA
    By Paul H in forum Security
    Replies: 16
    Last Post: 12-02-2020, 04:19 PM
  2. Trusted locations
    By kcmiuser in forum Security
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-14-2013, 09:48 AM
  3. Trusted Locations and Active X controls
    By justphilip2003 in forum Security
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 05-17-2013, 08:02 AM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 01-26-2011, 05:51 PM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-09-2010, 06:22 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums