Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    jpl85716 is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    8

    Northwind Purchase Order Number

    In my Purchase order Table I have my Purchase Order Id Number. I changed Customers to Jobs , In my jobs table I have a field Job Number. I need my purchase order number on my report to be (Job Number + Purchase order Id number) and to store That purchase order number in my purchase order table under Purchase order number.

  2. #2
    Rawb is offline Expert
    Windows XP Access 2000
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    875
    Quote Originally Posted by jpl85716 View Post
    In my Purchase order Table I have my Purchase Order Id Number. I changed Customers to Jobs , In my jobs table I have a field Job Number. I need my purchase order number on my report to be (Job Number + Purchase order Id number) and to store That purchase order number in my purchase order table under Purchase order number.
    I'm not sure I understand what you're trying to do. . .

    Why can't you just leave the Purchase Order number the same? If you need the two tables tied together, just add a Job Number field to your Purchase Order table and add a one to many relationship between [Jobs].[Job Number] and [Purchase Orders].[Job Number].

  3. #3
    jpl85716 is offline Novice
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    8
    Quote Originally Posted by Rawb View Post
    I'm not sure I understand what you're trying to do. . .

    Why can't you just leave the Purchase Order number the same? If you need the two tables tied together, just add a Job Number field to your Purchase Order table and add a one to many relationship between [Jobs].[Job Number] and [Purchase Orders].[Job Number].
    If it was my choice I would leave it alone but my bookkeeper wants the first part of the purchase order number to be The job number. Like if Job A is assigned number 223 and I need a purchase order and the default number is 1001 I need it to print out on the report as 223-1001

  4. #4
    Rawb is offline Expert
    Windows XP Access 2000
    Join Date
    Dec 2009
    Location
    Somewhere
    Posts
    875
    Bah. I know how that is. . .

    OK, since you're probably going to want to store the Job and Purchase Order numbers separately, I'd recommend keeping them in two separate fields like this:

    Purchase Orders Table
    Code:
    PurchaseID|JobID|Other Fields. . .
    1001|100|. . .
    1002|102|. . .
    1003|101|. . .
    1004|102|. . .

    Jobs
    Table
    Code:
    JobID|Other Fields. . .
    100|. . .
    101|. . .
    102|. . .
    Then, in your report, you just make an Unbound Text Box and use the following Formula in it:

    Code:
    =[JobID] & "-" & [ProductID]
    What that code does is take your JobID and ProductID fields (both from the Purchase Orders Table) and sticks 'em together with a dash in between.

    Therefore, the four Purchase Orders listed in the Table above would be printed out as:

    Code:
    Purchase Order Number
    100-1001
    102-1002
    101-1003
    102-1004

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Purchase price of asset
    By Ron.Sul in forum Access
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-17-2010, 11:28 PM
  2. Purchase orders 2 in 1
    By jordanturner in forum Forms
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-09-2010, 03:38 AM
  3. Help With Purchase Order Form
    By SpeedyApocalypse in forum Forms
    Replies: 29
    Last Post: 04-09-2010, 07:06 PM
  4. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-11-2006, 04:55 PM
  5. inport data into invoice from Purchase order database
    By Wrangler in forum Import/Export Data
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-30-2006, 12:28 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums