Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    cebrower is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Spring Lake, MI
    Posts
    93

    Access runtime issues


    We have 4 mission critical databases created and maintained in Access 2010. We distribute the front end to the users as accde files and they run them using Access Runtime 2010. Since upgrading our PCs from Win7 to Win10 some (but not all) computers are showing compatibility problems. For example an error message that says a function such as DatePart is not available or tab stop order is not recognized. Any suggestions?

  2. #2
    ranman256's Avatar
    ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    8,949
    when you get errors on normal functions, its a false error....
    the actual error is in the references. which means you need the addcb.
    you must enter VBE (alt-F11) , menu, tools, references,
    uncheck the MISSING items, then find the new versions and check those.

    we no longer use accde, but instead use the accdb, but locked down, so users cannot enter the vbe, nor edit screens. nor use shift-bypass.
    if theres a problem (usu from upgrades) then we unlock it and fix the references, and relock
    also SOME old controls are no longer supported like msCalender control. you must find an old copy of msCal.ocx, put it int c:\windows\system32 , then register it.

    PC ugrades stink.

  3. #3
    cebrower is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Spring Lake, MI
    Posts
    93
    How do you "lock down" the accdb? I have a form that opens when the user starts Access and when the user hits the button to close that form all open objects close. The ribbon and tool bars are all hidden. What can be done in addition to that?

  4. #4
    cebrower is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2018
    Location
    Spring Lake, MI
    Posts
    93
    You were correct ranman256. Switching to the accdb gave me error messages that told me which references were missing. Turns out that PC never had Adobe Reader installed. Once installed, no more errors.

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-27-2020, 12:10 PM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-22-2015, 11:26 AM
  3. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-16-2015, 06:43 PM
  4. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-20-2012, 04:22 PM
  5. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 06-12-2012, 09:52 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums