Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    mikem is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Office 365
    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Posts
    19

    show linked field on a form

    I think this is a simple question, but I can't find the answer.
    I have a table (Filters) that has 2 fields:


    1. FilterNum
    2. FilterName

    I have another table (Scores) where I have 2 fields:
    1. FilterNum
    2. Score

    Each table has many other fields, but I don't think they are important to my problem

    On a Form for the Scores table, I want to list the FilterName instead of the FilterNum.

    Since I am excel person, I would use vlookup of FilterNum to get the FilterName

    trying to be an access person instead, I didn't drag the filter name over when I add records to the Score table. But now I cant figure out how to "show" the FilterName instead of FilterNum.

    I could get rid of FilterNum and use FilterName as my key field. There are only about 50 filters and it won't grow. But I thought a simpler AutoNumber key field was better for performance. But I'm just an excel guy trying to be an access guy

    thanks

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Jan 2017
    Location
    Swansea,South Wales,UK
    Posts
    4,860
    I would be using a combo for the filters.? Source would be FilterNum, FilterName
    The bound field would be the autonumber field, with a column width of 0 and FilterName with a column width sufficient to identify each filter?

    No Dlookup() required?
    Please use # icon on toolbar when posting code snippets.
    Cross Posting: https://www.excelguru.ca/content.php?184
    Debugging Access: https://www.youtube.com/results?sear...bug+access+vba

  3. #3
    Micron is offline Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    12,737
    This is what your data should look like

    tblFilters
    FilterNumPK FilterNum FilterName
    1 10 abc
    2 20 def
    3 30 ghi
    4 40 jkl


    tblScore
    ScoreIDPK FilterNumFK Score
    1 1
    100
    2 2 200
    3 3 300
    4 4 400

    In the query upon which you bind your form to, you link pk and fk fields (equal join) and drag filter name field, as well as score and FilterNum if you need those also. My guess is that your tables are not structured this way at all and you probably need to read up on db normalization because H and V lookups really have no place in Access. That's why they're not one of the built in functions.
    Last edited by Micron; 03-21-2021 at 06:38 PM. Reason: correction
    The more we hear silence, the more we begin to think about our value in this universe.
    Paraphrase of Professor Brian Cox.

  4. #4
    mikem is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Office 365
    Join Date
    Mar 2021
    Posts
    19
    thanks for the replies

    my tables are actually structured that way.
    I missed the part where the form should be based on a query instead of bringing the tables together on the form

    thanks for the help

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-20-2018, 03:40 PM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-15-2012, 01:18 PM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 04-04-2012, 12:42 PM
  4. New Field Will Not Show Up in Form
    By batowl in forum Forms
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-16-2010, 11:34 PM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-05-2010, 04:47 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums