Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    JRodko is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 10 Office 365
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    122

    Caching data from MySQL

    I know this is MySQL and not SQL Server, however I am hoping there can be assistance.

    Is there any way to cache table data from mySQL for read only offline access?

  2. #2
    pbaldy's Avatar
    pbaldy is offline Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    21,688
    Presuming you can link to it, you can create a local table with the same structure and then run an append query to copy the data.
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

  3. #3
    JRodko is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 10 Office 365
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    122
    Thanks. I am thinking this is likely the simplest solution.

  4. #4
    pbaldy's Avatar
    pbaldy is offline Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    21,688
    No problem, post back if you get stuck.
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

  5. #5
    Gicu's Avatar
    Gicu is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Kelowna, BC, Canada
    Posts
    2,248
    Have a look at my free utility that does just that; it combines the current linked front-end with the latest back end data to create an "all-in-one" db that you can take you with on the road. It is not read-only, but any changes in it will not impact the live production data.
    http://forestbyte.com/ms-access-utilities/fba-fuze/

    Cheers,
    Vlad
    Vlad Cucinschi
    MS Access Developer
    http://forestbyte.com/

  6. #6
    JRodko is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 10 Office 365
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    122
    Gicu this tool is absolutely unreal.

    Is there any possibility of it corrupting the original 'split' database?

  7. #7
    Gicu's Avatar
    Gicu is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Jul 2015
    Location
    Kelowna, BC, Canada
    Posts
    2,248
    No, not really, as the tool creates empty copies of the linked tables then uses Insert Into SQL statements to append the records leaving the source tables untouched. The way I normally deploy it is using a desktop shortcut to the tool which, after the initial setup will merge the fe and be and open the "all-in-one" and close itself, similar to a front-end deployment tool.

    Cheers,
    Vlad
    Vlad Cucinschi
    MS Access Developer
    http://forestbyte.com/

  8. #8
    JRodko is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 10 Office 365
    Join Date
    Oct 2018
    Posts
    122
    Amazing. Thank you.

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. caching problems
    By fishhead in forum Access
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 02-16-2017, 08:57 AM
  2. Caching Causing Error on Linked Tables
    By Unknown_Individual in forum Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-06-2015, 09:02 AM
  3. How to write data into linked MySQL table
    By mr.viskers in forum Programming
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 03-13-2015, 02:51 AM
  4. Cannot import binary data > 1M into MySQL BE
    By wbiebel in forum Import/Export Data
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 02-14-2011, 11:17 PM
  5. Data transfer and Mysql
    By fsmikwen in forum Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-25-2010, 11:42 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums - Senior Forums