Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    OfficeQuestions is offline Novice
    Windows 7 Access 2010 (version 14.0)
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    3

    Problems with data entry form Access 2010

    For some reason, the customer ID field is starting at 2 instead of 1. It won't let me edit it manually. I have 10 records and it says 1 of 10 at the bottom. However, it is starting at 2 for the customer ID field.



    Any ideas on how to fix this?

  2. #2
    OfficeQuestions is offline Novice
    Windows 7 Access 2010 (version 14.0)
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    3
    Here's a screenshot.

  3. #3
    pbaldy's Avatar
    pbaldy is online now Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    21,284
    It sounds like the data type of that field in the table is Autonumber. That type is designed to provide a unique identifying value to every record. It can in some instances skip numbers (you likely either deleted a record or started to create one and aborted the process). Because of that, it should not be used if you care about what the number is.
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

  4. #4
    OfficeQuestions is offline Novice
    Windows 7 Access 2010 (version 14.0)
    Join Date
    Sep 2010
    Posts
    3
    Quote Originally Posted by pbaldy View Post
    It sounds like the data type of that field in the table is Autonumber. That type is designed to provide a unique identifying value to every record. It can in some instances skip numbers (you likely either deleted a record or started to create one and aborted the process). Because of that, it should not be used if you care about what the number is.
    Thank you. I'm using autonumber because I am doing a project for class and it requires me to do so. Is there a way to fix this considering?

    Here were my directions:

    "Create a table with the following fields:
    Customer ID (AutoNumber), Company Name, First Name, Last Name, Billing Address, City, State, Zip code, and Phone #. Format the State field size to 2; leave all other fields at default size. Save the table as "Customer Data.""

  5. #5
    pbaldy's Avatar
    pbaldy is online now Who is John Galt?
    Windows XP Access 2007
    Join Date
    Feb 2010
    Location
    Nevada, USA
    Posts
    21,284
    There's nothing to "fix" really. Like I said, if you use autonumber you can't care what the number is. For now you can try deleting all records from the table and then run a compact/repair on the db, which will probably reset the number.

    By the way, no experienced developer would use table or field names with spaces or symbols like the # in them. Your instructor has probably never worked in the real world.
    Paul (wino moderator)
    MS Access MVP 2007-2019
    www.BaldyWeb.com

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-22-2010, 12:25 PM
  2. Data entry form
    By adept in forum Forms
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-20-2010, 10:13 PM
  3. Sub Form Data Entry
    By OldBloke in forum Forms
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 08-09-2010, 06:58 AM
  4. Validating data entry in a form
    By bdhFS in forum Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-18-2010, 03:09 PM
  5. Creating data entry form
    By ksukat in forum Forms
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-11-2010, 04:55 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums - Senior Forums