Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 16 to 21 of 21
  1. #16
    santon's Avatar
    santon is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 10 Office 365
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Posts
    44
    Quote Originally Posted by isladogs View Post
    Yes you should still split it putting all data in the BE.


    Ideally have one copy of the FE on each workstation each linked to a common BE on the network.
    Excuse me, I am afraid I don't fully understand.
    You meant I need to split all the machines data into separate FE and one BE for them all?
    Or FE and BE for every machine separately?

  2. #17
    isladogs's Avatar
    isladogs is offline Very idle programmer
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Somerset, UK
    Posts
    4,762
    The standard setup for a networked application is to have a BE file on the network and a copy of the FE on each workstation.
    By doing that, all data will be in one place and you can just make backups of that BE.
    This means far less maintenance work for you/admins.

    However, if your workstations are not on a network, you will need to have a separate BE on each workstation and do backups of each of them.

    Either way, if for any reason any of the FEs get damaged, you can just replace with a fresh copy without any data loss.
    Whereas at the moment if/when you get corruption, you risk losing all data from that workstation.
    Colin (Mendip Data Systems): Website, email
    Try again. Fail again. Fail better.
    A
    sking for help isn't giving up. Its refusing to give up.

  3. #18
    Micron is online now Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    8,778
    The main reasons for splitting a single user db are
    - if you need to do fe design changes (e.g. add a form) you do it in your development copy then replace the production copy with the changes. Thus you don't have to be concerned with the data portion.
    - if you corrupt the un-split db to the point where you cannot even open it, in all probability you have lost all data.
    This might have already been mentioned here but it's worth repeating.
    - "doesn't work" doesn't help. Implement changes in copies of your database.
    I’m telling everyone it's good to eat dried grapes. It’s all about raisin awareness.

  4. #19
    santon's Avatar
    santon is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 10 Office 365
    Join Date
    Dec 2020
    Posts
    44
    Thank you so much for your help.
    Can you recommend a good tutorial for splitting the database the right way?
    To ensure there won't be any problems in the future

  5. #20
    isladogs's Avatar
    isladogs is offline Very idle programmer
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Somerset, UK
    Posts
    4,762
    Quote Originally Posted by santon View Post
    Thank you so much for your help.
    Can you recommend a good tutorial for splitting the database the right way?
    To ensure there won't be any problems in the future
    Try this https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...e%20See%20More
    Colin (Mendip Data Systems): Website, email
    Try again. Fail again. Fail better.
    A
    sking for help isn't giving up. Its refusing to give up.

  6. #21
    NoellaG's Avatar
    NoellaG is offline Expert
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2010
    Location
    Belgium
    Posts
    735
    Maybe a possibility: ask the IT guys to create a SQL (express) database with the proper securities set for your application, that you can link to with access :
    * no more problems with stability
    * you have one database every machine can link to
    * the IT DBA can set up a good automatic backup plan, so you save a lot of time every evening
    * no more security issues: this can be done far better and easier in the SQL database than using access VBA
    * Access works fine as a front end to SQL server
    It's worth a question and a far more stable solution.

Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. loosing exclusivity after running code
    By arti in forum Modules
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-24-2018, 01:42 AM
  2. Stop code running.
    By Homegrownandy in forum Programming
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 05-22-2017, 02:11 PM
  3. Issue with VBA code running on my system
    By matt704 in forum Access
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-24-2017, 07:02 PM
  4. Running code in the background
    By LostInTheTrees in forum Programming
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-16-2015, 06:00 PM
  5. Running Code from a Module in a Macro
    By ReadyReckoners in forum Modules
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 05-08-2013, 04:45 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums - Senior Forums