Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    tonyhansson is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Office 365
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    23

    Bulk opdate sharepoint

    Hi

    I have a vba script (Made of Steve from this forum)

    The script bulk update a table in batches.

    It works inside access, but when I connect it to a table linked to SharePoint, I get failure in:

    Code:
                CurrentDb.Execute strSQL, dbFailOnError
    Error 3096 table is read only.

    The table is not read only, I can delete manually though access.

    I have tried different codes, with no luck (DoCmd)




    Do anyone know the solution for this?

    Merry Chrismas
    Tony

  2. #2
    Ajax is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    8,927
    I avoid sharepoint as much as possible but recognise some do not have that luxury.

    what happens if you copy your strSQL to a new query then execute the query? Same error? it works? different error?

  3. #3
    tonyhansson is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Office 365
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    23
    Hi

    It works on small amount of Rows (under100), but the delete query has to delete around 1500 Rows each time.

    There for I have to delete in batches.

    It runs, if not connected to sharepoint.

    Do you Think the SQL have to be different when used against sharepoint?

  4. #4
    Micron is offline Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    8,597
    - "doesn't work" doesn't help. Implement changes in copies of your database.
    Iím telling everyone it's good to eat dried grapes. Itís all about raisin awareness.

  5. #5
    Ajax is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    8,927
    can't really help if you don't answer the question - but looks like micron has found something that could help

  6. #6
    tonyhansson is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Office 365
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    23
    Hi

    I am i another time zone than you, so I have Been sleeping.

    tks for your answer

    I Can not make the list without metadata, it is automatic created by sharepoint, and Can not be delete.

  7. #7
    Ajax is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Mar 2015
    Posts
    8,927
    think what is being suggested is to copy the data to a new table - perhaps deleting as you go

  8. #8
    tonyhansson is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Office 365
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    23
    Thank you

    I am waitng for approval for saving list as template, i will then try the suggested.

    Merry christmas

  9. #9
    tonyhansson is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Office 365
    Join Date
    Aug 2020
    Location
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Posts
    23
    It is working if I only choose 50 Rows each time

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-30-2019, 10:02 PM
  2. Bulk emails
    By wbaroudi in forum Access
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 10-29-2019, 09:40 AM
  3. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-18-2017, 09:02 AM
  4. How can I hyperlink in bulk
    By Tony of Wigmore in forum Programming
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 02-12-2016, 04:19 AM
  5. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 03-24-2014, 09:35 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums - Senior Forums