Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Alinchains is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Posts
    2

    If statement

    Here is what I am struggling with. I have a database where I need multiple If statements. but here is an example of what I am trying to do.

    If [Activity AU Frequency] = "Monthly" and [Control AU Frequency] = "Annual or less" and [Monitoring Tool AU Frequency] = "Annual or less" then "Fail"


    If [Activity AU Frequency] = "Daily" and [Control AU Frequency] = "Monthly" and [Monitoring Tool AU Frequency] = "quarterly" then "Pass"

    And so on for each possible scenario.

  2. #2
    ranman256's Avatar
    ranman256 is online now VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    8,795
    use a giant case statment (below), or if you can, use a table to put these in.


    select case true
    case [Activity AU Frequency] = "Monthly" and [Control AU Frequency] = "Annual or less" and [Monitoring Tool AU Frequency] = "Annual or less"
    msgbox "Fail"


    case [Activity AU Frequency] = "Daily" and [Control AU Frequency] = "Monthly" and [Monitoring Tool AU Frequency] = "quarterly" then
    msgbox "Pass"

    end select

  3. #3
    moke123's Avatar
    moke123 is offline Me.Dirty=True
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    827
    You have an errant "then" Ranman left over from your copy and paste.
    If this helped, please click the star * at the bottom left and add to my reputation- Thanks

  4. #4
    Alinchains is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Nov 2020
    Posts
    2
    Thats awesome. Sorry I wasn't clear enough. I need the query to update another field [Pass/Fail] as Pass/Fail

  5. #5
    moke123's Avatar
    moke123 is offline Me.Dirty=True
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Oct 2012
    Posts
    827
    Insert your update code where Ranman has the msgbox statement.

    Code:
    select case true
    
    case [Activity AU Frequency] = "Monthly" and [Control AU Frequency] = "Annual or less" and [Monitoring Tool AU Frequency] = "Annual or less"
    
    'update code here
    
    case [Activity AU Frequency] = "Daily" and [Control AU Frequency] = "Monthly" and [Monitoring Tool AU Frequency] = "quarterly" 
    
    'update code here
    
    end select
    If this helped, please click the star * at the bottom left and add to my reputation- Thanks

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 04-29-2015, 01:38 PM
  2. use if statement or something else
    By billcar2006 in forum Access
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 03-09-2015, 03:34 PM
  3. if statement in sql statement, query builder
    By 54.69.6d.20 in forum Access
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-11-2012, 07:38 AM
  4. Replies: 7
    Last Post: 08-17-2011, 01:49 PM
  5. If Statement
    By ajolson1964 in forum Access
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 05-11-2011, 07:51 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums - Senior Forums