pero2112 is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2013 64bit

Different prices for products for different customers

Hello,

I want to build database and without going in to too much technical depth i need advice. Been trying and testing for a while and still can not figure out what is the best solution. I am new to access, few months playing with it in free time. I see so many benefits of it but very little knowledge.

This is the question, i have multiple customers which has their own specific prices for products. So each customer would have different price for same product. What would be the best solution to store data? I need to build few forms as well. But this start is what is worrying me. I have table with the customers, and then separate table with products and prices for each customer. Would that be good way to continue?

Thanks!

I'd probably have a CustomerProduct table that would hold

Code:
    CustomerProductID         AutoNumber
    CustomerID                    Long Integer FK
    ProductID                      Long Integer FK
    CustProdPrice                 Currency
    Plus any other fields you might feel are required.

HTH

Maybe the fields PriceValidFrom and PriceValidTo?

orange is online now Moderator
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL
    Pero2112,
    Can you tell us more -in plain English - about different prices for the same product for different customers?

If customer X and Customer Y each buy 1 of Product P --how do you determine the price you charge?
    Is it always some percentage discount? I would expect it would be cumbersome to change prices and/or add new customers and/or increase your product inventory.

You may want to analyze your requirement and see if there is some pattern or simplification/efficiency option.
    Good luck.

You can review the Similar Threads at the bottom of the page for related questions/responses.

Quote Originally Posted by orange View Post
    Pero2112,