Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Muse is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2013 64bit

Question Consuming a part and linking it to a main record

Hello, I'm new to this forum and kind of a beginner to MS Access. I've been trying to make a database for work, and I've been researching for over 3 months and can't seem to figure it out. I don't know if this question has been asked before. I've searched but can't find one that is specific to this.

My dilemma:
    I'm trying to consume a part that needs to be linked to a previous opened form. For example, I have a form called Work Order and in that form I have a button that opens a continuous form that contains records (inventory) that I can choose from. Once I choose a record another form opens that displays that single record. This is where I will input a quantity to be "consumed". What I'm trying to figure out is how do I link this "consumption" to the record that was displayed in the Work Order form?
    The form that displays the single (inventory) record has a command button that will change the quantity in stock but also link the record to the work order, but I can't figure out the latter.

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

CJ_London is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    describing your issue doesn't really help us to help you - what would help us is to see screenshots of the forms and your tables and their relationships.

For example, why all these forms? why not just a combo on your works order form to list and select a item, together with a control to enter a quantity.

and comments like this 'a command button that will change the quantity in stock' implies a potential issue with your tables.

Muse is offline Novice
    I figured I’d explain the issue before posting screenshots and attaching files in case someone might know exactly what my problem is and say “Oh, that’s easy, you just need to do this...” 😅