Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Bkndbrown is offline Novice
    Windows 8 Access 2013

Im new. form filter or load ID from subform.

I am sure this is easy to fix but I am going circles as I am new to this.

Design
    Main table (TblMaincontactList) has multiple fields that will be populated by combo box from other tables. One of these fields is "Squadron" which the combo box is linked to the table (TblDropDownSqdn).

TblDropDownSqdn also has another field that is a check box (SelectUnit). The goal of this is to make it so users can limit the form so it will only show records from their squadron and they can only make entries for their squadron. I want it so at the top they can either enter a new record or click on a record from the bottom and edit it at the top.

I am trying to make the form to populate the fields for the main table where they are all filtered by the field in the second table..

I have tried three methods

Frist
    I made a query that just filtered the TblDropDownSqdn. I then made a split form. I pointed the combo box to the query and stored it in the main form. This worked to limit the selections in the combo box, however the table at the bottom still showed all entries in the main table as it was not filtered.

Secound.
    I made a query that collect all of the fields and filter them based on this checkbox. obviously this worked great for filtering the results and I could select a record on the table and it would display it on the top however I could not edit or make new records because it was no longer based on the tables themselves.

Third
    I made a form with an unbound table. the unbound table was based on the query where the main form was linked directly to the main table. This worked with everything except I do not know how to make it so I can select a record and get it to display on the main form. I wouldnt even mind selecting a record and hitting a button to move it up to the main form.

fourth