Frannilea is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2007

Question Import Sound Files From A Website (Papago) For Language Learning App

Hi.

I'm an unskilled beginner, who wrote a small access database to help myself learn Korean. It works reasonably well for a beginner application, I think (a skilled programmer will probably notice my steep learning curve in the coding, lol and be able to make vast improvements, I'm sure - I did it over a couple weekends of steep learning and some minor code stealing, lol). I'm still making small adjustments as I use it over the last week or so. I've attached it in a .zip file. I'll eventually have to add an archive type database as my database expands, I realise, because it'll get slower and maybe eventually fall over - that's fine. I started off small, then it kind of grew as I came up with more ideas lol! Alongside it I also use Anki, a space repetition app.

The words are meant to go through the "FutureWord" section first, Listening, Reading, Meaning - this is the memorisation section (with advancement counts on how well I do on each word), then they get transferred into the Acquisition section, for Listening and Recall, where the emphasis is on immediate recall on hearing the word or seeing the English meaning, in order to make my brain remember them by reflex - acquisition. The words drop off after so many immediate recalls. I keep the two sections completely separate because I also use VLC player to make daily playlists of the words I'm acquiring and I only want to concentrate on 100 words at a time as this seems to be my personal optimal number. Alongside it I also use Anki, a space repetition app in order to ensure that I don't forget the word after I've fully learned it.