Csoraparu is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016

Search box on Sub Form to be filtered by Main form

I'm very new to Access and I'm trying to set up a very simple database to track my customer's and calls. I used the Contacts template in Access and modified it to meet my needs. The last bit that I'm trying to figure out is how to have a Search Box in a sub form but have it controlled by a field in the parent form. The parent form is my customer contact information, name, city, state ...., so they primary key for that is just ID. The sub form tracks my calls for that particular customer and has a date field, description of the call, and a large text field for my call notes. The sub form and parent form are linked by the ID field. So, right now I can change the customer and the notes only for that particular customer show up in the sub form. I want to add a search box to the sub form so I can search by the date or by the short description. I did add a Combo Box to the sub form and I can do a search but it brings up all the calls for every customer not just the customer that is currently in the main form. How do I have the search box only show results for calls that are for the customer ID in the parent form?

Gicu is offline VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Add criteria to the combo's row source to limit the results to the current ID: "Select tblCalls.* from tblCalls WHERE ID = Forms!frmYourMainForm!ID;". Now in the Enter event of the combo box just add one line:
    Me.cboYourComboBoxName.Requery 'this ensures the combo gets refreshed when moving from record to record in the main form

Cheers,
    Vlad Cucinschi
    MS Access Developer
    http://forestbyte.com/

Windows 10 Access 2016
    Could you assist with what you described if I attach my database for you to see?

Gicu is offline VIP
    Of course!

Windows 10 Access 2016