Results 1 to 4 of 4
  1. #1
    Frannilea is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2007
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Posts
    27

    Question Querying a Korean Hangul textbox to match database.

    Hi. I'm making a language learning app to help me learn Korean. I have IMEmode FullHangul chosen on both the text box and the database field, yet my query doesn't work - I get question marks on my textbox contents (I've just typed in 고장 in Korean). Could anyone possibly tell me why? I'm just an inexperienced Access beginner, btw, with very little programming knowledge. I knew how to do this about 13 years ago (not the Hangul part!), but forgotten. I've attached my little project, in case that helps.



    Thanks in advance!

    PS: It's in the Word Entry Form. What I'm trying to do is search on the top field, and if the record exists than it will be inserted into the form underneath, and the user can choose to relearn the word with the "Relearn Word" button, which will be enabled (save button disabled). If it doesn't exist a message will pop up telling the user that the record doesn't exist and the bottom fields will be enabled (and the searched word copied to the Korean Word field below to avoid typos), the user types in the remaining information and the "Save New Word" is enabled (Relearn Word disabled). The reason I want to do this is firstly not to have double records if I relearn a word, and secondly I want to change some of the fields in the database differently when I relearn a word as opposed to learning a new one.

    PPS: I learned DAO a long time ago, so that's what I'm attempting to relearn.

    I hope that makes sense!
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Programming problem.png  
    Attached Files Attached Files
    Last edited by Frannilea; 07-25-2020 at 06:08 AM. Reason: Add screenshot of error

  2. #2
    ranman256's Avatar
    ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    9,521
    string MUST have quotes around them:
    "select * from wordlist where koreanWord='" & txtBwordTest & "'")

    numbers do not (like your example)

  3. #3
    Bob Fitz's Avatar
    Bob Fitz is offline Access Developer
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Essex UK
    Posts
    3,530
    Should that be:

    Set rst = db.OpenRecordset("Select * From Wordlist where KoreanWord = '" & TxtBWordTest & "'")
    If this helped, please click the star at the bottom left of this posting and add to my reputation . Many thanks.
    Bob Fitzpatrick

  4. #4
    Frannilea is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2007
    Join Date
    Jul 2020
    Posts
    27
    Thank you!! It works now. :-) Finished app attached. Attachment 42520

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Querying database with attachment field
    By George in forum Access
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 05-12-2016, 06:23 AM
  2. Querying an Access Web Services Database
    By melanemac in forum SharePoint
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-12-2013, 08:44 PM
  3. Match TEXTBOX value with TABLE and then validate?
    By taimysho0 in forum Programming
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-22-2011, 11:25 AM
  4. Mulit-User Querying Database 250 people
    By nguyeda in forum Database Design
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 06-09-2011, 07:10 AM
  5. Querying a database with optuion buttons
    By MattB in forum Access
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 01-28-2010, 06:43 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums