Recordset DAO

Hi there,

I am new at this and trying to understand, I would appreciate some help please.

I've created a simple database with forms to add new records and update information which works fine.

I'm just reading up on recordsets and DAO and trying to understand its use. Do I need to incorporate this into my database for it to work efficiently? I am assuming yes.

If there's a form being used to add a new client record for example, where would i be adding the recordset.addnew method? My form is based on my table and not a query in this case.

Thank you,
    Tess

moke123 is offline Me.Dirty=True
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit
    When using a bound form the form takes care of the recordset and will save the data when the form is closed or you move to another record. So technically you dont need to add a recordset. There are numerous uses for recordsets, probably too many to type out.

to add a new record on a form you can use a command button with code like

Code:
    Private Sub Command25_Click()
    DoCmd.GoToRecord , , acNewRec
    End Sub
    you could also use (Me.Recordset refers to the forms recordset)
    Code:
    Private Sub Command25_Click()
    me.recordset.addnew
    End Sub
    to use addnew in a dao recordset you would use something like
    Code:
    Sub test()

Dim db As DAO.Database
        Dim rs As DAO.Recordset
        Dim strSql As String
        strSql = "select * from  sometable"
        Set db = CurrentDb()
        Set rs = db.OpenRecordset(strSql)

rs.AddNew
        rs!someField = SomeValue
        rs.Update

MyExit:
        rs.Close
        Set rs = Nothing
        Set db = Nothing
    End Sub

CJ_London is online now VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    by default, access uses DAO. A form recordsource automatically creates a recordset and the form is bound the recordset