aligahk06 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007

Migrating MS Access Database to SQL Server Database.

Dear All,

I'm working on MS Access DB Table , but i want to migrate MS Access DB to Sql Server.
    I'm new in sql server So please assist me to how to migrate.

Thanks & Regards,
    Rgds,
    aligahk06

Hi,
    there is a wizard that assist you in the migration, but I would not advise it.
    First on creation of your database, you have to decide the size of your database files: in SQL server you have a database file and a log file. You need to make sure that there is as less autogrowth as possible. If you install the database using the full recovery model ( = standard) be sure that you set up a log backup every hour or every 15 minutes or so, otherwise the size of your log file might explode. If you're content to take a daily back-up I would set the recovery model to simple.
    Than I would recreate the tables manually as the SQL datatypes differ from the Access datatypes and I would not rely on the automatic translation made by the wizzard.
    Also take a moment to look at the use of schema's. Standard all tables are created in the dbo schema. But if you have different groups of users with different levels of security it is best to use different schema's per group as you can set the security per schema. In any case take the time to set up the security in a proper way.
    For the Access queries that you often use as a base for reports, forms you can create views on SQL server.
    And, as with all new software, take your time to explore the possibilities of the new software before starting the project.

aligahk06 is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2007
    Sir,

Thanks for guidance..

No problem, but it is mrs, not sir

wvmitchell is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016