Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 15 of 27
  1. #1
    nahum abramovich is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    62

    problem with running 5 records inside one text box

    hi

    i am trying to run 5 records (from one field from table) inside text box on a form.

    on form / event tab:

    time interval i put :
    5000

    on timer (vba):

    Private Sub Form_Timer()

    On Error GoTo Err_Handler

    DoCmd.GoToRecord , , acNext

    Exit_Handler:
    Exit Sub

    Err_Handler:
    If Err = 2105 Then DoCmd.GoToRecord , , acFirst 'return to first record
    GoTo Exit_Handler

    End Sub
    and i get error

    the object "remarks" inset open....



    what am i doing wrong?

  2. #2
    ranman256's Avatar
    ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Apr 2014
    Location
    Kentucky
    Posts
    9,521
    What do you mean 'run' records?
    a query can show 5.

  3. #3
    Bob Fitz's Avatar
    Bob Fitz is offline Access Developer
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Essex UK
    Posts
    3,530
    Quote Originally Posted by nahum abramovich View Post
    hi

    i am trying to run 5 records (from one field from table) inside text box on a form.

    on form / event tab:

    time interval i put :
    5000

    on timer (vba):

    Private Sub Form_Timer()

    On Error GoTo Err_Handler

    DoCmd.GoToRecord , , acNext

    Exit_Handler:
    Exit Sub

    Err_Handler:
    If Err = 2105 Then DoCmd.GoToRecord , , acFirst 'return to first record
    GoTo Exit_Handler

    End Sub
    and i get error

    the object "remarks" inset open....

    what am i doing wrong?
    Does this have anything to do with your last thread: https://www.accessforums.net/showthr...601#post458601
    If this helped, please click the star at the bottom left of this posting and add to my reputation . Many thanks.
    Bob Fitzpatrick

  4. #4
    nahum abramovich is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    62
    mmm yes

    I thought of opening it as another question so as not to drive anyone crazy what would happen next

  5. #5
    nahum abramovich is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    62
    i mean show records inside the text box

    every time different one ....

    in loop

  6. #6
    davegri's Avatar
    davegri is offline Excess Access
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    May 2012
    Location
    Denver
    Posts
    3,388
    What you want is commonly called a Marquee.
    Here are some links in the topic using Access:

    https://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=61344

    https://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=46586

  7. #7
    isladogs's Avatar
    isladogs is offline MVP / VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Somerset, UK
    Posts
    5,954
    Marquee text is used to scroll text across a form.
    I also have an example in my Attention Seeking database http://www.mendipdatasystems.co.uk/a...eek/4594398116.
    However that isn't what the OP asked for in his previous thread.

    @Nahum
    I really don't understand why you asked the same question in both the previous thread and again here.
    All that does is cause confusion.

    I have supplied code that loops through the records on a timer.
    You said an error occurred. What was the error number and description?
    Colin, Access MVP, Website, email
    The more I learn, the more I know I don't know. When I don't know, I keep quiet!
    If I don't know that I don't know, I don't know whether to answer

  8. #8
    nahum abramovich is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    62
    You're right I'm sorry. (With your permission I would like to get more help.)
    The code you brought me worked fine with popup new form.


    now i am trying to show this tips\remarks\comments\notes inside fixed text box on my main form (fixed i mean = no option to close\move and always will be in the same position on the main form)


    As I explained in the previous correspondence I want every 5 seconds to see one remark in loop.

    i tried to run your code (this time popup = no) with no success and i cant understand what am i doing wrong.

    the error that appeaser :

    The expression On Timer you entered as the event property setting produced the following error: A problem occurred while Microsoft Access was communicating with the OLE server or ActiveX Control

    The expression mat not result In the name of a macro the name of user defined function or [event procedure].

    There may have been an error evaluating the function event or macro


  9. #9
    isladogs's Avatar
    isladogs is offline MVP / VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Jan 2014
    Location
    Somerset, UK
    Posts
    5,954
    Are you saying the code works if your form is a popup but doesn't work if the SAME form isn't a popup?
    Or are you referring to a different form where the error occurs?

    The error message is very general and its not clear what exactly is wrong without looking at your database.
    What was the error number?

    Suggest you upload a cut down version of your database with just the items needed to test your issue.
    One of us can look at it and hopefully fix it fairly easily.
    Colin, Access MVP, Website, email
    The more I learn, the more I know I don't know. When I don't know, I keep quiet!
    If I don't know that I don't know, I don't know whether to answer

  10. #10
    nahum abramovich is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    62
    Not the same form. The first one was new one (empty) only one text box inside.
    I tried on new form without popup and it works fine. Looks like i have problem with my main form.

    Where can i see the error number?

  11. #11
    nahum abramovich is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    62
    Maybe the problem appear because I have more text boxs in the main form?

  12. #12
    nahum abramovich is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    62
    can i send you the file by email?

  13. #13
    Bob Fitz's Avatar
    Bob Fitz is offline Access Developer
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Essex UK
    Posts
    3,530
    Quote Originally Posted by nahum abramovich View Post
    can i send you the file by email?
    IMHO it would be of more benefit to the forum if you were to post the db here.
    If this helped, please click the star at the bottom left of this posting and add to my reputation . Many thanks.
    Bob Fitzpatrick

  14. #14
    nahum abramovich is offline Advanced Beginner
    Windows 7 64bit Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2018
    Posts
    62
    ok/ please remind me how i do this?

  15. #15
    Bob Fitz's Avatar
    Bob Fitz is offline Access Developer
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    Essex UK
    Posts
    3,530
    Compact and Repair your db, then "zip" it. To attach the zipped file to your post see: https://www.accessforums.net/faq.php...b3_attachments
    If this helped, please click the star at the bottom left of this posting and add to my reputation . Many thanks.
    Bob Fitzpatrick

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-24-2018, 07:58 AM
  2. Formula and Text inside a Text box
    By trident in forum Forms
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-18-2015, 02:38 AM
  3. Can I use a DLOOKUP inside of a text box?
    By Access_Novice in forum Forms
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 01-26-2014, 03:56 PM
  4. How to vertically align text inside a text box ?
    By alexcalgary in forum Forms
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-06-2010, 08:44 AM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-30-2009, 09:40 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums