Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Grandad is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016

Search as you type in Combo Box

This is a continuation of an old thread I mistakenly added my question to. I have been advised to start again as the old thread was marked "closed" Rookie mistake.

https://www.accessforums.net/showthr...318#post458318

Take 2!
    Here's what I posted a few hours ago.

Be kind please. First post. (Well, third now I guess.)
    I'm a rank amateur beginner but I'm slowly learning and enjoying the process. I've been at it for about a month.

I realise this is a very old thread but I've been trying to get this same VBA working and am still getting the same result as aonsu209 was getting. (In the original thread)
    Namely, the list part of the combo box goes blank.

Judging from the spaces being shown as I enter characters and the list contracts and knowing what is in the relevant table I'd say the search itself is working fine.

Code:
    Private Sub SearchCombo_Change()Dim strSQL As String
    If Len(Me.SearchCombo.Text) > 0 Then
    strSQL = "SELECT CustomerT.Search FROM CustomerT WHERE (((CustomerT.Search) Like '*" & Me.SearchCombo.Text & "*')) ORDER BY CustomerT.Search;"
    Else
    strSQL = "SELECT CustomerT.Search FROM CustomerT ORDER BY CustomerT.Search;"    'This is the default row source of combo box

End If
    Me.SearchCombo.RowSource = strSQL
    Me.SearchCombo.Dropdown
    End Sub
    the Row Source for my combo box is
    Code:
    SELECT CustomerT.[ClientID], CustomerT.[Search] FROM CustomerT;
    The ComboBox name is "SearchCombo"
    Table name is CustomerT
    I've used a calculated field to combine the columns "FirstName", "PartnersName" & "LastName" into one field called "Search" This is the field that populates the ComboBox

Can anyone please help?

Cheers
    Jim

ranman256 is offline VIP
    Windows Vista Access 2010 32bit
    Every character you type is a search,