achulz is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016

Limiting Rows for Multiple Querys

Hello, I am pretty new to Access but I would like to start using it instead of Excel to save time and mostly automate my daily routine.

I create 'pick routes' in my warehouse for the pullers to go and grab parts for orders. In the past I have been downloading inventory locations for each part (which are text files that Excel and Access can easily understand), and I have been picking out (up to) five different locations for each part number to choose from. Then I paste them all into one spreadsheet and sort out the locations alphabetically (while keeping the same part numbers grouped together). This makes an easy to follow 'route' throughout the warehouse to pull all the parts I need for the particular pick.

Anyways, I want to do this in Access because downloading each part number data and cutting, pasting, organizing, etc. takes a lot of time. Couple things to note here:

-The warehouse is laid out alphabetically by location

-Some parts may have only one location or several hundred, depending on what's in stock
    -Part numbers that are the same must stay grouped together in rows
    -The main data table containing all part numbers and locations has to be updated daily since Access is not linked to the live online database we use

So far I have learned how to create a database and run a query. I can select all of the part numbers I want, but I can only have it display every single location for that part which is not only unnecessary but wastes paper and makes it harder for the puller to keep track of where they are on the route or how many parts they are supposed to pull.

My question is: Is there any way I can filter out the list so it only displays up to 5 locations for each part number? Using the "Top Values" function in the query properties only displays the first five parts on the list, not five of each part number that I requested in the query.