Results 1 to 1 of 1
  1. #1
    skydivetom is offline Competent Performer
    Windows 8 Access 2010 64bit
    Join Date
    Feb 2019
    Posts
    437

    Need help with replicating/modifying working form/VBA (with slight tweaking)

    Experts:

    Several months ago, I developed a process which allows me to re-assign staff members (employees) across N-Codes (organizations/offices). Please find attached a sample db with only the pertinent objects (and dummy data).

    Upon opening the database, please check out the following (this existing process works fine):
    1. Open form "F134_N1S_MoveStaffmemberNCode"
    2. From the "Go To" drop-down, pick any staff member (employee). Note: The yellow text boxes (storing ID numbers) are usually hidden but will help w/ the process modification.
    3. The current information (e.g., "Current N-Code", "Current Organization", etc.) are displayed in the upper section.
    4. Now, in the lower section, select any new N-Code.
    5. Finally, click on command button "Move Staff Member" and then following the prompts. Note: Once the "move" has been executed the current information section is updated accordingly.

    Again, the above process works well and does NOT need any modification.

    Now, here's what I need some help with. First, allow me to provide some additional information though.

    a. Open table "T102_N1S_Staffmembers". You will notice that my "first staffmember" = "[Vacant]". This is a "dummy" record utized for new and/or unfilled positions. I won't go into any further details about the significance of this process here.
    b. Now, open table "T103_N1S_Billets"... please note records #8 and #9... both of them are labeled "New Position #".
    c. Next, please review table "T101_N1S_JunctionOBS"... this is where I store the ID combinations across all 3 tables (staff members, billets, organization). Again, so far so good.
    d. In the table "T101_N1S_JunctionOBS", I currently store staff member "[Vacant]" [ID # = 1] with billets 8, 9... and some organization ID.

    Thus far in my project, I only had to "move assigned" staff members across N-Codes (organization). So, I used form "F134_N1S_MoveStaffmemberNCode" to execute the process.
    Now, however, there's a requirement to also move "vacant" (dummy) staff members across N-Codes.

    Here's what I've done so far but it doesn't work for the latter process:
    1. Copied query "Q134..." and labeled it "Q135..."
    2. Copied form "F134..." and labeled it "F135..."
    3. Made some changes to the row source of both queries and form (Q135/F135).
    4. Tried to follow the same process as I've done in moving an assigned staff member (F134); but now with F135, I cannot move a vacant billet from one N-Code to another.



    Could anyone please assist me with identifying the missing pieces in my VBA so that I can also move vacant billets across organizations? Please note that a vacant billet (i.e., staff member = vacant) can/should be moved into any of the available organizations.

    Thank you in advance,
    Tom
    Attached Files Attached Files

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Finding Duplicates with slight name-change
    By Shmueldabomb441 in forum Macros
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-02-2019, 03:39 PM
  2. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 12-27-2018, 02:59 PM
  3. Tweaking my database
    By Voodeux2014 in forum Access
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 11-19-2014, 04:11 PM
  4. slight number problem
    By Rigsby in forum Database Design
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-06-2011, 11:27 AM
  5. Form Filter Causing slight problem
    By cowboy in forum Forms
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-15-2010, 07:32 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums - Senior Forums