Results 1 to 3 of 3
  1. #1
    BruceCovey is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Location
    Cartersville, Ga.
    Posts
    2

    Unintended design problem - Cascade/update issues

    I've attached a pic of my tables/relationships.



    My database tracks cable runs in my video facility. The same SystemName is used as a lookup for both systemName_src & systemName_dst, and PortName is used as a lookup for both portName_src & portName_dst. Looking at my relationships to the SystemConnections table, I can update/cascade SystemName and PortName changes just fine to systemName_src & portName_src, but it leaves systemName_dst & portName_dst hanging unchanged... It's not a huge database ( less than 2000 cable entries ), but this could get me into trouble. I can't point the PriKey/lookup field to two items in the second table and maintain referential integrity and cascade updates.

    I'd appreciate any ideas to solve this issue. ( I hope I did the attachment correctly ).
    Attached Files Attached Files

  2. #2
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    49,515
    Why would you need cascade update? Are you linking on autonumber/number or text fields? Is changing descriptive text a common occurrence? Wouldn't need cascade update if you used autonumber/number key linking.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  3. #3
    BruceCovey is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    May 2020
    Location
    Cartersville, Ga.
    Posts
    2
    Ahh... I should have caught that earlier. I made a change halfway through after starting down the autonumber/number key linking in one of the other tables. Eliminates the cascade update issue entirely for me. Not that many changes over time, but enough that could screw me over. I'll get this fixed now and transfer the data.

    Thanks for the rapid response.

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-24-2019, 11:04 AM
  2. ON UPDATE CASCADE error
    By Bazsl in forum Queries
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 07-18-2016, 02:35 PM
  3. Problem with a combo box cascade
    By uny in forum Forms
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 05-26-2014, 11:36 AM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-18-2013, 05:56 AM
  5. 3rd Combo Box Cascade Issues
    By GAccess in forum Forms
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 03-06-2012, 03:16 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums - Senior Forums