N3rdyByN4tur3 is offline Novice
    Windows 10 Access 2007

Query Creating Duplicates

I am fairly new to Access so please bare with me. I have a database of our shipping information and need to calculate the average process time of shipments. The data table with the information I need is just a running collection of processes (not my design), so incoming is one line and outgoing is a different line etc and for everything that has been processed. I have figured the best approach is create 2 queries, one looking for the in coming and changing the system date to Time In, and the other with the outgoing to Time Out. Then I have a third query that takes the information so Time In and Time Out can be on the same row with a new column to calculate the difference. The issue I am having is that I have a few items that have come through multiple times and the query seems to be listing every combination. For example I have an item that has been here twice (2 separate dates in TimeIn query and TimeOut query), but the final query has 4 instances (first time in with both time outs and the second in with both outs). I tried using DISTINCT in SQL for all 3 queries, but that doesn't help. Can anyone help?

June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Probably need to adjust JOIN clause. Post the query SQL statement. Provide sample data. If you want to provide db for analysis, follow instructions at bottom of my post.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

Windows 10 Access 2007
    What I have currently is:

SELECT DISTINCT
    qryTimeIn.[Part Number],
    qryTimeIn.[Serial Number],
    qryTimeIn.[Time In],
    qryTimeOut.[Time Out],
    FROM qryTimeIn INNER JOIN qryTimeOut ON qryTimeIn.[Serial Number] = qryTimeOut.[Serial Number];

orange is offline Moderator
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Ottawa, Ontario, Canada; West Palm Beach FL