Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    apmitch is offline Novice
    Windows 7 32bit Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Posts
    12

    Thumbs down Table Name Change

    Dear all, please help a frustrated old man! I am using Access 365 and am trying to change the name of a table, I have done this many times before but this time it just will not work. I Left Click on the Table and the menu comes up, I click on Name Change, the box changes state to allow me to change and then immediately it reverts back to its original state, it just seems to time out very quickly. Any suggestions?

  2. #2
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    49,220
    I think you meant Right Click and Rename - at least that's what I do.

    Try using DoCmd.Rename in VBE immediate window.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  3. #3
    Micron is offline Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    7,069
    I think you meant Right Click
    Maybe his mouse is set up for left hand? But I think the terminology is supposed to remain constant regardless.
    I don't see "Name Change" option, I see Rename and there is no 'box' - just the current name is highlighted in the navigation pane. Something doesn't sound right when you say you click on the table and it reverts quickly. You can't rename a table by clicking on it, but you can by clicking on its icon in the navigation pane.
    - "doesn't work" doesn't help. Implement changes in copies of your database.
    "Everyone has a photographic memory; some just don't have film." Steven Wright

  4. #4
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    49,220
    Clicking on icon does not allow me to rename.

    I agree described behavior is odd.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

  5. #5
    Micron is offline Virtually Inert Person
    Windows 10 Access 2016
    Join Date
    Jun 2014
    Location
    Ontario, Canada
    Posts
    7,069
    Hmm, works for me and I double checked in case I had right clicked on the name instead. Doesn't matter.
    I thought this behaviour has been around since time immemorial...
    - "doesn't work" doesn't help. Implement changes in copies of your database.
    "Everyone has a photographic memory; some just don't have film." Steven Wright

  6. #6
    June7's Avatar
    June7 is online now VIP
    Windows 10 Access 2010 32bit
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Location
    The Great Land
    Posts
    49,220
    I mean single clicking on icon is no different than clicking on object name. Icon and name highlight as a unit when I point with cursor. I have to right click to open menu.

    Vague memory of single click to select item then a second single click to edit name, like in Windows Explorer. But if that did work in the past, haven't seen it for a long time.
    How to attach file: http://www.accessforums.net/showthread.php?t=70301 To provide db: copy, remove confidential data, run compact & repair, zip w/Windows Compression.

Please reply to this thread with any new information or opinions.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 04-17-2020, 09:01 AM
  2. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 04-13-2020, 05:35 PM
  3. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 06-18-2016, 10:51 AM
  4. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 09-22-2015, 01:18 PM
  5. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 06-15-2015, 05:19 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Other Forums: Microsoft Office Forums - Senior Forums